New Delhi, Nov 6: Una has been the Bharatiya Janata Party’s fort since 2003. Party’s Satpal Singh Satti has won Assembly election from Una thrice – 2003, 2007 and 2012.

Satti is looking to consolidate his position in the region by winning the Una Assembly seat for a record fourth time. On the other hand, the Congress, which has fielded Satpal singh Raizada, is looking to break into the BJP’s citadel.

BSP’s Ravi Kumar and two independent candidate Gulzar Singh and Rajiv Gautam are also contesting from Una.

In 2012 Assembly election, Satpal Singh Satti, who is heads the Himachal Pradesh unit of the BJP, had defeated Congress’s Satpal Singh Raizada by over 4500 votes.

Political PartyCandidate Name
BSPRavi Kumar
BJPSatpal Singh Satti
INCSatpal Singh Raizada
INDGulzar Singh
INDRajiv Gautam

In an interview to a local daily recently, Satti claimed that the BJP will win above 50 seats. “People are itching for a change,” the BJP leader said.

In the 68-member Himachal Pradeh Assembly, the ruling Congress has 35 members while the strength of opposition BJP is 28. There are four independents while one seat is vacant.

Voting in all 68 seats in the hilly state will be held in one go – November 9 and counting is scheduled for December 18.

Himachal Pradesh will be the second state after Goa with 100 percent VVPAT (paper trail of votes) coverage. The paper trail machines will be deployed along with EVMs in all the 7,521 polling stations, including 42 auxiliary polling stations at remote places.