Lucknow, Nov 6: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday issued the list of mayoral candidates for the upcoming civic elections in Uttar Pradesh. The saffron party has decided to field Sankyukta Bhatia for the mayor post in Lucknow Municipal Corporation. The party unveiled the names after a five-day meet in the state capital.

Bhatia hails from a family with traditional BJP supporters. Her husband, Satish Bhatia, was a former legislator from Lucknow Cantt.

Uttar Pradesh BJP Chief Mahendra Nath Pandey also announced the names of Mridula Jaiswal (Varanasi), Dr Rajiv Agarwal (Aligarh), Dr Mukesh Arya Bandhu (Jhansi), Vinod Agarwal (Muradabad) and Sanjeev Walia (Saharanpur) for the civic polls.

The party has given tickets to nearly 25 Muslims for the first phase of local body polls in Uttar Pradesh. The party has given tickets to five Muslim candidates from Lucknow’s Malihabad Nagar panchayat. BJP has picked Shaukat Ali and Tanseen Ansari as councillor candidates in Meerut Municipal Corporation.

The 652 civic bodies in 75 districts will go polls in three phases. Polling for the three phases of Uttar Pradesh Civic Elections 2017 will be on November 22, 26 and 29. The State Election Commission will conduct counting on December 1.