New Delhi: In what came as a bit of a surprise, Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) on Tuesday said that it will be contesting the upcoming assembly elections in Bihar with Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Janwadi Party Socialist (JPS). RLSP chief Upendra Kushwaha made the announcement.Also Read - BSP Leader Seen Crying Profusely After Not Getting Party Ticket, Threatens Self-Immolation | Watch

While the exact reason of the RLSP quitting the grand alliance is yet unknown, sources said the RLSP was demanding 36 seats, while the RJD was willing to concede only 12. Also Read - 'In Deep Slumber': Supreme Court Slaps Huge Fines on Political Parties Over Criminal Candidates

Rumours also suggest that the BJP gave its former ally a cold shoulder, with reports emerging that the former was not eager to offer more than 10 seats to RLSP. In the 2015 assembly elections, Kushwaha’s party had contested 22 seats as an NDA partner. Also Read - Watch Video: Illegal Building Falls on Worker During Demolition in Uttar Pradesh

RLSP had quit the NDA in December 2018 after the BJP refused to offer more than two seats to RLSP for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections even as it went out of the way to accommodate Nitish Kumar’s JD(U).

RLSP also suffered a setback on Monday after its president Bhudeo Chaudhury joined RJD. Chaudhary had contested 2019 Lok Sabha elections against Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) chief and Jamui MP Chirag Paswan.

Chaudhary joined RJD days after Kushwaha said his party would remain in the grand alliance only if there was a change in the leadership of RJD.

The Election Commission announced that Bihar assembly elections will be held in three phases — October 28, November 3 and 7. The counting of votes will take place on November 10.