17 soldiers of Indian Army died in the worst cross-border attack at the army camp in Uri sector of Jammu and Kashmir. It is believed that terrorists, who attacked the camp on Sunday morning were infiltrated from Pakistan. Soldiers gave a tough fight to terrorist in a six-hour long gunbattle and neutralized all four of them. Initial investigation carried out by Indian army suggests involvement of Pakistan based terror group Jaish-e-Mohammad.  The terror attack made India lose 17 brave heart soldiers.

A latest update has death toll raised to 18 in the Uri terror attack. Sepoy K Vikas Janardhan, one of the three soldiers who were moved RR Army Hospital in New Delhi was undergoing treatment. He died after he succumbed to his injuries. Sepoy Janardhan is survived by his wife and a daughter.

Here is the list of martyrs who lost their life in the Uri terror strike:

1. Subedar Karnail Singh, r/o Village Shibu Chak, Tehsil – Bishnah, District- Jammu, Jammu & Kashmir.

2. Havildar Ravi Paul, r/o Samba, District- Jammu, Jammu & Kashmir.

3. Sepoy Rakesh Singh, r/o Village Baddja, District- Kaimur, Bihar.

4. Sepoy Javra Munda, r/o Village Meral, District- Khuti, Jharkhand.

5. Sepoy Naiman Kujur, r/o Village Gumla, Chainpur, Jharkhand.

6. Sepoy Uike Janrao, r/o Village Nandgaon (Kh), District- Amravati, Maharashtra.

7. Havildar NS Rawat, r/o Village Rajawa, District- Rajasmand, Rajasthan.

8. Sepoy Ganesh Shankar, r/o Village Ghoorapalli, District- Sant Kabir Nagar, Uttar Pradesh.

9. Naik SK Vidarthi, r/o Village Boknari, District- Gaya, Bihar.

10. Sepoy Biswajit Ghorai, r/o Village Ganga Sagar, District- South 24 Parganas, West Bengal.

11. Lance Naik G Shankar, r/o Village Jashi, District- Satara, Maharashtra.

12. Sep G Dalai, r/o Village Jamuna Balia, District Howarah, West Bengal.

13. Lance Naik RK Yadav, r/o Village Balia, Uttar Pradesh.

14. Sepoy Harinder Yadav, r/o Village Ghazipur, District- Ghazipur, Uttar Pradesh.

15. Sepoy TS Somnath, r/o Village Khadangali, District- Nashik, Maharashtra.

16. Havildar Ashok Kumar Singh, r/o Village- Raktu Tola, District- Bhojpur, Bihar.

17. Sepoy Rajesh kr Singh, r/o Village Jaunpur, Uttar Pradesh.

18. Sepoy K Vikas Janardhan, r/o Village Purad, District- Yavatmal, Maharashtra.

These are certainly not just loss of 18 lives to their families but to the nation also. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Rajnath Singh has assured strict action against those who are responsible for the attack.

A statement by the Army says that 13-14 soldiers lost their life as the tents they were staying it caught fire during the terror attack. Families of these soldiers continue to mourn and we salute those who lost their life. Our prayers are with families in all strengths.



(ALSO READ: Uri terror attack: Here’s what you should know about the worst cross-border assault on Indian Army in 27 years)