Lucknow, February 25: The campaigning for the fifth phase of assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh has ended today evening at 5 pm and the voting will be held on Monday. In 5th phase, the polling will start at 7 am in the morning and will end at 5 pm on Monday. The voting will be held for 51 constituencies spread over 11 districts in Tarai and eastern Uttar Pradesh which will go to polls in this phase on Monday.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer has today written to UP Chief Secretary, asking him to direct the Samajwadi Party to cover the word Samajwadi from ‘Samajwadi Ambulance Seva’, news agency ANI reported.

Following the death of Samajwadi Party candidate for Alapur assembly seat, polling has been postponed till March 9. On Monday the districts that will go to polls in this phase are Amethi, Sultanpur, Faizabad, Ambedkar Nagar, Baharaich, Shravasti, Gonda, Balrampur, Basti, Siddharth Nagar and Sant Kabir Nagar. In a third phase, 618 candidates are in the fray, which also includes 45 women.

For the 5th phase of Uttar Pradesh elections, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President Amit Shah and BSP chief Mayawati have completed their campaign in the poll-bound state. Both BJP-Apna dal alliance and Congress-SP alliance are leaving no stone unturned to woo the voters. Also Read – Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections 2017 Phase 5: Key candidates and constituencies

Also, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi address public meetings at Bahraich, Gonda and Sultanpur today, while Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav addressed rallies at Siddharth Nagar, Basti and Sant Kabir Nagar.

As the campaigning for 5th phase has officially ended today, the political parties have already started battling for 6th phase. BJP President Amit Shah was scheduled to address rallies in Ballia, Kushinagar and Deoria for the sixth phase of polls, while BJP state unit president Keshav Prasad Maurya addressed public meetings in Azamgarh, Ballia, Mau and Gorakhpur today.

In this phase, the prominent contestants include nine ministers of Akhilesh Yadav government. In this phase, Amethi, the Lok Sabha constituency of Rahul Gandhi is also in the fray, as controversial Minister Gayatri Prasad Prajapati (SP), who will be facing Amita Singh (Congress) and Garima Singh (BJP) in Amethi. Amita Singh is the wife of Congress leader Sanjay Singh, while Garima is his estranged better half.

Also in the fifth phase, the fate of ministers Vinod Kumar Singh alias Pandit Singh from Tarabganj (Gonda), BSP state president Ram Achal Rajbhar from Akbarpur, Tej Narain Pandey from Ayodhya will also be decided in this phase.

In 5th phase, over 1.84 crore voters which include 96 lakh women, will practice their rights to vote on Monday. The result for Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections will be declared on March 11.