New Delhi, Feb 13: The Election Commission released the fact sheet of the Second phase of Uttar Pradesh assembly elections, which is scheduled to be held on February 15, 2017. The key facts regarding the Second phase of UP assembly elections are provided by a report by the EC released via the Press Information Bureau. The fact sheet reveals the name and number of the constituency in the second phase with the maximum number of candidates this year along with several other relevant facts.

As per the report, in the second phase of the Uttar Pradesh Assembly election, 67 assembly constituencies are going to poll with the total numbers of registered voter being 22879185. Out of the 22879185, 12384449 are male, 10493671 female and 1065 belonging to the third gender. The total number of candidates is 721 and out of that, 82 are female candidates.

Kanth assembly constituency has the maximum number of candidates which is 28, while Dhanaura is the constituency with the least number of candidates which is 5. In 21 assembly constituencies, there are more than one women candidate contesting in the polls on February 15.

The table released by the Election Commission shows that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has the maximum number of candidates in this phase with 67 candidates each, followed by the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) with 53 candidates and the Samajwadi Party (SP) with 51 candidates.  The Indian National Congress(INC) which is contesting this year in alliance with the SP is fielding 18 candidates, which brings the total strength of the SP-Congress alliance to 69, making it the allied party with the maximum number of candidates.

There are 207 independent candidates in the second phase and 247 registered but unrecognised candidates. Along with the numbers of the Communist Party of India (CPI) with 22, CPI(M) with 4, the National Congress Party (NCP) with 3 and the All India Trinamool Congress (AITMC) with no candidate in this phase, the total number sums up to 721.

M0radabad is the largest assembly constituency electorate wise and Dhampur is the smallest. There is no assembly constituency where there is straight contest.

Sl No.

ItemNumber of Assembly Constituencies going 

on poll-67

1Total Electors
Male 12384449
Third Gender1065
2Total number of candidates721
3Total number of female candidates82
4No. & Name of the Assembly Constituency

with maximum number of candidates

25-Kanth 28 candidates
5No. & Names of the Assembly Constituency

with minimum number of candidates

6Assembly constituency where more than

one women candidate

7Party-wise list of candidatesAITMC0
Registered but


8Largest Assembly Constituency Electorate wise28-Moradabad Nagar
9Smallest Assembly Constituency Electorate wise20-Dhampur
10Number and name of Assembly Constituencies

where there is straight contest

11Number of EVMs to be used in the ElectionBU-28040
12Number of Polling Stations23696

According to the fact sheet, there are 28040 Balloting Units of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) to be used in the second phase while 26990 Control Units, There are 23696 polling stations.

The second phase of the Uttar Pradesh assembly election will be held on February 15, 2017. The first phase was held on February 11. the election will be held in seven-phases and the votes will be counted on March 11, 2017.