Lucknow, Feb 15: The polling on 67 constituencies of Uttar Pradesh concluded on Wednesday evening. As per the tentative figures released by the Election Commission, the voter turnout in the second phase of polls was above 60 per cent. The Uttar Pradesh Chief Election Officer informed that about 1.5 Lakh weapons were taken in custody (deposition) during the second phase of Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections. He also informed that cash worth Rs.16.52 crore along with drugs worth Rs. 1.61 crore was also seized.

As per estimates, Saharanpur witnessed a turnout of 70 percent voters whereas Badaun saw a turnout of 60 percent voters. While neighbouring district Amroha saw a turnout of  69 percent voters, 65 percent voters turned around in Moradabad.  Shahjahanpur also saw a turnout of 62 percent voters. Pilibhit recorded a turnout of  65.62 percent voters. 65 percent voters turned out in Sambhal whereas Bareilly saw a turnout 62.17 percent voters. Bijnor, Lakhimpur, and Rampur witnessed a turnout of  67 percent, 65 percent and 61.5 percent voters respectively.

The second phase of Uttar Pradesh assembly elections is likely to set the trend for the rest of the phases in assembly elections. The polling was held in Sugarcane belt of the Uttar Pradesh where the waiving off loans of farmers is a major issue. The region was severely affected by riots in Muzaffarnagar in 2013.

As many as 721 candidates including 82 women candidates are contesting 67 constituencies in the elections. The polling will be conducted on 23696 polling stations amidst tight security. While Samajwadi Party and Congress forged an electoral alliance before the elections, Bharatiya Janata Party and Bahujan Samaj Party has decided to go alone in the electoral battle.

Samajwadi Party fielded 51 candidates, BJP and BSP are contesting 67 constituencies. Regional party Rashtriya Lok Dal fielded 53 candidates in the second phase. Communist Party of India and Communist Party of India (Marxist)  also contested 22 and 4 constituencies respectively. The elections witnessed political heavyweights on the polling day. Samajwadi Party’s veteran leader Azam Khan contested from Rampur constituency, the Congress fielded Jitin Prasad from the Tilhar seat.

Uttar Pradesh will go polls on Feb 19 for the third phase of assembly elections. The voting will conclude on March 8. The results of the assembly elections will be announced on March 11.