New Delhi, March 11: Voting for Uttar Pradesh and Bihar Bye-elections 2018 ended on Sunday. Gorakhpur, a stronghold of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath witnessed a polling percentage of 43 per cent while Phulpur saw a total turnout of 38 percent till 5 PM, reports said.Also Read - UP Elections 2022: This Is How Akhilesh Yadav Is Planning To Become CM, His Winning Strategies Revealed

Also Read - UP Assembly Election 2022: Swami Prasad Maurya Leaves BJP, Joins Samajwadi Party, Know Which Politicians Left Their Parties To Join Other Parties

Coming to Bihar bye-elections, a 57 percent voter turnout was recorded in Araria whereas in Jehanabad and Bhabhua  50.6 per cent and 54.3 voter turnout was registered respectively. Reports claim that repolling may take place in Bhabhua on 23 polling booths on March 13 as EVMs were not working today. However, observers are likely to take a decision soon. (Bihar Bypoll 2018 LIVE: 57% Voter Turnout in Araria, 54.3% in Bhabhua, 50.6% in Jehanabad Till 5 PM) Also Read - Who Will Get Absolute Majority in Punjab? Zee News Opinion Poll Coming Soon

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath was among the early voters in Gorakhpur. After casting his vote at a polling station in his constituency, CM Yogi said that the BJP will win on both seats – Gorakhpur and Phulpur. The bye-elections were necessitated for both the seats after Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and deputy chief minister Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated their constituencies following their election to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council. (UP LS Bypoll Live Updates: 43% Turnout Recorded in Gorakhpur, 38% in Phulpur Till 5 PM)

For bye-elections 2018, a total of 10 candidates are in the fray from Gorakhpur, while there are 22 candidates contesting from Phulpur. The BJP had fielded Kaushalendra Singh Patel from Phulpur. On the other hand, SP had nominated Pravin Nishad whereas, Manish Mishra contested from the seat on Congress ticket. In Gorakhpur, the BJP had nominated Upendra Dutt Shukla against SP’s Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel and Sureetha Kareem of the Congress.

On the other hand, the bye-elections to Jehanabad and Bhabua assembly seats are being held following the demise of sitting legislators from the RJD and the BJP, respectively. The Araria Lok Sabha seat fell vacant after the death of Mohammad Taslimuddin, the sitting RJD MP. In Araria Lok Sabha seat, the RJD fielded Sarfaraz Alam — son of Taslmiuddin — who was a sitting legislator of the ruling JD-U. On the other hand, BJP nominated Pradeep Kumar Singh.

In Bhabua Assembly seat, the BJP fielded Rinki Rani Pandey. Meanwhile, the Congress put up Shambhu Patel. In Jehanabad Assembly seat, the RJD  fielded Uday Yadav. He was contesting against JD(U)’s Abhiram Sharma who had won the seat in 2010 when his party was an ally of the BJP.

The Bihar bye-elections 2018 are being seen as a major test for Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-National Democratic Alliance (NDA) combine and Grand Alliance of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Congress and Hindustan Awam Morcha- Secular (HAM-S) ahead of Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

The results for Bihar and Uttar Pradesh bye-elections will be declared on Wednesday, March 14.