Lucknow, Mar 14: Results for the Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Bye-Elections 2018 will be declared on Wednesday, March 14. The counting of votes will begin at 8 am for Gorakhpur Bypoll 2018 and Phulpur Bypoll 2018 and the results are expected to be out by late afternoon. It has become an even more interesting bypoll with arch-rivals Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) coming together to defeat the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Stay with us for Live updates on counting of votes for UP bypolls.Also Read - Kashi Vishwanath Corridor Project: How PM Modi’s Dream Project Will Boost Religious Tourism | SEE PHOTOS

Voting for the Gorakhpur and Phulpur bye-elections was held on Sunday, March 11. While Gorakhpur recorded 43 per cent voting, a voter turnout of 37.39 per cent was recorded in Phulpur. Also Read - UP: 19-Year-Old Killed For Ties With Married Woman In Muzaffarnagar

The key contenders in Gorakhpur are Upendra Shukla of the BJP, Praveen Nishad of the SP and Surhita Chatterjee Karim of the Congress Party. In Phulpur, Kaushalendra Singh Patel of the BJP, Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel of the SP and Manish Mishra of the Congress Party are in the fray. Also Read - Oops! Brand-New Road in UP Cracks Open After BJP MLA Slams Coconut During Inauguration | Watch

Gorakhpur is a crucial seat for the BJP as it is the bastion of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, who represented the Lok Sabha seat five times. Before Adityanath, the seat was represented in Parliament by his mentor Yogi Avaidyanath thrice. Losing this seat would mean a huge loss for the BJP.

Phulpur, once represented by the country’s first prime minister, Jawaharlal Nehru, was taken by the BJP in 2014 Lok Sabha elections after UP Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya won there.

Arch rivals SP and the BSP decided to bury the hatchet and come together for these bypolls to defeat the BJP. Earlier, in 1993 Kanshi Ram and Mulayam Singh Yadav had formed a pre-poll alliance leading to the ouster of the BJP. Whether it can work this time or not remains to be seen.

Live Updates

  • 6:30 PM IST

    The final results for Gorakhpur and Phulpur are out and Samajwadi Party (supported by Bahujan Samaj Party) has won both the Lok Sabha Seats from Uttar Pradesh that were previously held by the Bharatiya Janata Party.

    Thank you for staying with us. For more news and updates, log on to
  • 6:27 PM IST

    UP By-Elections 2018 Results Live:If this is the anger of people in areas of CM & Deputy CM, you can imagine the anger of the people of the rest of the country,” says Akhilesh Yadav, SP

  • 6:19 PM IST

    UP By-Elections 2018 Results Live: “BJP has created an atmosphere of fear. They have made a mockery of Constitution and the Law,” says Akhilesh Yadav.

  • 6:16 PM IST

    UP By-Elections 2018 Results Live: SP chief Akhilesh Yadav thanks the people of Gorakhpur and Phulpur, mentions a special thank to BSP chief Mayawati.

  • 6:15 PM IST

    UP By-Elections 2018 Results Live: Samajwadi Party’s Praveen Kumar Nishad wins Yogi Adityanath’s Gorakhpur seat, defeats BJP’s Upendra Dutt Shukla by 21,916 votes.

  • 6:13 PM IST

  • 5:38 PM IST

  • 5:22 PM IST
    UP By-Elections 2018 Results Live: Samajwadi Party’s Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel wins Phulpur Lok Sabha seat by 59,613 votes
  • 5:13 PM IST

    UP By-Elections 2018 Results Live: Samajwadi Party’s Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel leading by 57,148 with 3,37,683 votes, BJP’s Kaushlendra Singh Patel second with 2,80,535 votes after 31st round of counting.

  • 4:37 PM IST