Also Read - War on 'Love Jihad'? Yogi Govt Likely to Bring Ordinance To Restrict Religious Conversion in UP

Lucknow, Sep 16: Amidst tight security, counting of votes for 11 Assembly seats and one Lok Sabha seat in Uttar Pradesh began today.
“Counting for 11 seats of Vidhan Sabha and one seat of Lok Sabha started this morning,” an Election Commission official said here. He said micro observers have been deployed at counting stations. Also Read - School Reopening News: This BJP-ruled State Refuses to Resume Classes From Sept 21 | Here's Why

The Assembly seats where bypolls were held include Saharanpur city, Bijnor, Thakurdwara, Noida, Nighasan Lucknow east, Hamirpur, Charkhari, Sirathu, Balha and Rohania, as also in Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat which was vacated by SP supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav. Also Read - Uttar Pradesh Governor Approves Renaming of Manduadih Railway Station to Banaras

Stakes are high for BJP, Congress, Samajwadi Party in Uttar Pradesh after the saffron party’s near-total sweep of the 80 seats in Lok Sabha polls just four months ago.