New Delhi, April 12: The Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council elections for the 13 seats will be held on April 26. The votes of the UP Legislative Council elections will be counted on the same day. The 100-member UPLegislative Council has 13 members from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), 61 members from Samajwadi Party (SP), nine from Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), two from Congress, one from Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) and 12 others from various parties. The 13 seats for which the election will be held was earlier occupied by seven members of the SP, two by BJP and BSP, one by RLD and the remaining by former SP minister Ambika Chaudhary who has now joined BSP. With the election date nearing, here’s looking at the schedule which will be followed starting April 26.

UP Legislative Council Elections 2018 Schedule:

Nomination for the polls: April 9

Last day for filing nominations: April 16

Scrutiny of nominations: April 17

Last date for withdrawal of nomination: April 19

Elections Date/Voting Begins:  April 26 from 9.00 am to 4.00 pm

Counting of Votes:  April 26 at 5.00 pm.

Meanwhile,  as reported by Election Commission (EC), the terms of six party members along with SP chief Akhilesh Yadav is coming to an end on May 5. The members whose term ending are- state party chiefNaresh Chandra Uttam, senior party spokesman Rajendra Chaudhary, Umar Ali Khan, Madhu Gupta, Ramsakal Gurjarand Vijay Yadav.

On the other hand, taking new-found friendship to yet another level, the Samajwadi Party said that it would support BSP in one Legislative Council seat in the upcoming elections and field its candidate on the other seat. Confirming the same, SP spokesman Rajendra Chaudhary told PTI, “The Samajwadi Party will field its candidate on one seat while extending support to the BSP on the other seat for the Legislative Council.” With the opposition ready to take on BJP in the upcoming polls, it would be interesting to see how well it is holding and whether it passes the test of time.