New Delhi, June 10: The Bharatiya Janata Party and the Samajwadi Party indulged in blame game following the damage  seen at the government bungalow vacated by SP president and former Uttar Pradesh chief minister Akhilesh Yadav. Images and video clips of alleged damages  to a cycle track, to the floor and walls have given rise to war of words between the ruling and Opposition parties.

While, the Samajwadi Party played down the damage, asking why the state of the homes recently vacated by other former Uttar Pradesh chief ministers in compliance with a Supreme Court order was not being shown. The BJP, on the other hand, mocked the SP chief, saying the damage done at the bungalow showed Yadav’s “frustration”.

Yadav challenged the state government to come up with a list of fittings damaged or removed when he shifted. During a visit to temple-town Vridavan, he said BJP had mastered the art of defaming people.

“It was an attempt to tarnish my political image. One should learn from the BJP how to do. The media should also show the entire house instead of just showing the parts, which could have got damaged in shifting. Let the government submit a list to me for the damage done and items missing, I will replace, return or pay for it,” said Yadav.

Earlier on Friday, Yadav handed over the keys of the official bungalow on Vikramaditya Marg to the UP estates department, an official said. After this, the authorities let photographers enter the premises.

On June 2, all former Chief Ministers including Akhilesh Yadav, Mayawati and Rajnath Singh vacated their official residences in lieu of the Supreme Court’s order.

The Supreme Court in May 2016 had quashed the law passed by the then Uttar Pradesh government led by Akhilesh Yadav, which granted permanent residential accommodation to former chief ministers of the state. The apex court, in its order, said former chief ministers of the state were not entitled to government bungalows.

Thereafter, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath issued notices in May to six former state chief ministers to vacate their official bungalows, including Mulayam Singh Yadav, Mayawati, and Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh.