Puducherry, Nov 5 : Congress leader and Puducherry Chief Minister V Narayanasamy and seven others are in the fray for the November 19 bypoll to the Nellithope Assembly constituency, as the last date of withdrawal of nominations ended today.

The main contest is between Narayanasamy, a former Minister of State in the PMO, and AIADMK’s Om Sakthi Segar. Narayanasamy, who is not a member of the Assembly, became Chief Minister on June 6.

A John Kumar of the Congress had vacated the seat to enable Narayanasamy contest a by-election before December 6 deadline for getting elected as a Member of the Legislative Assembly. Counting of votes is slated for November 22.