New Delhi, May 17: Hitting out the Karnataka governor, Congress leader Randeep Surjewala on Thursday said that Vajubhai Vala had sacrificed his seat for Narendra Modi earlier also and yesterday he sacrificed Constitution and democracy for him. Addressing press conference in the national capital, Surjewala, said, “He conducted the first encounter of Constitution yesterday when he invited BJP to form govt. Today when he swore-in BS Yeddyurappa, he conducted its second encounter.” Complete coverage of Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018Also Read - 'Concocted, Fabricated and Evidence-less': BJP on Pegasus Spyware Story

Earlier in the day, BS Yeddyurappa had sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Karnataka after two days of high drama politics in the state with Bharatiya Janata Party emerging as the single largest party, but falling short of a majority. Yeddyurappa was sworn in as the Karnataka Chief Minister by Governor Vajubhai Vala, who has been at the center of controversies in the past two days for inviting the BJP to form the government and ignoring the letters submitted by the JDS and Congress for a coalition government. According to reports, alleged Congress workers also tried to stop Yeddyurappa’s cavalcade this morning when he was on his way to Raj Bhavan for his oath-taking ceremony. Also Read - TMC Martyr's Day: Mamata Banerjee Tells Regional Parties To Oust BJP, Pitches For United Opposition

Also Read - Amid Rumours of Exit, BS Yediyurappa Invites BJP MLAs in Karnataka For Dinner

Political Drama:
After Vajubhai Vala invited the BJP to form the government and prove majority on the floor of the House in 15 days, the Congress and the JDS filed a petition against the same in the Supreme Court. The Supreme Court, in an overnight hearing, refused to stay BS Yeddyurappa’s swearing-in ceremony. However, the Supreme Court said that it will be subject to the verdict in the case as and when it is pronounced. After hearing the matter for over three hours, the three-judge bench, comprising justices AK Sikri, SA Bobde, and Ashok Bhushan, directed that the letter sent by the BJP to Governor Vajubhai Vala for forming the government be placed before it. (ALSO READ: Cong, RJD to Stake Claim to Form Govts in Goa, Bihar Citing Single Largest Party Being Invited in K’taka)

Election Result:
On May 15, the BJP won 104 seats out of 222 Assembly seats that went to polls in Karnataka. The Congress won 78 seats while the JDS won 38. In a turn of events, the JDS and Congress came together to form a coalition government. They also got the support of one Independent MLA, taking their collective number to 117, well past the half-way mark.