Gandhinagar, Dec 26: Vijay Rupani took oath as the Chief Minister of Gujarat on Tuesday for the second term in Gandhinagar. Nitinkumar Ratilal Patel was sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister of Gujarat. Along with Vijay Rupani and Nitin Patel, eight Cabinet ministers and 10 Minister of State also took the oath of office and secrecy. Gujarat Governor OP Kohli administered the oath to Rupani and his ministers at a grand ceremony at Sahivalaya Ground in Gandhinagar.

The Cabinet ministers, who took oath in the Vijay Rupani Cabinet, include Bhupendrasinh Manubha Chudasama, Saurabh Patel and Ganpatsinh Vestabhai Vasava (former speaker of Gujarat Legislative Assembly). The Ministers of State include Pradipsinh Bhagvatsinh Jadeja, Jaydrathsinhji Parmar, Patkar Ramanlal Nanubhai and Ahir Vasanbhai Gopalbhai. Click here to read the full list of ministers in Vijay Rupani Cabinet.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah, former Gujarat chief minister Anandiben Patel, chief ministers of all the 18 National Democratic Alliance-ruled states, including Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath, Haryana CM Manohar Lal Khattar, Rajasthan CM Vasundhara Raje, Bihar CM Nitish Kumar, attended the ceremony. Several Union ministers and other senior leaders of the party including Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari and Ravi Shankar Prasad were also present.

Ahead of the swearing-in as Gujarat chief minister, Vijay Rupani offered prayers at Panchdev temple in Gandhinagar along with his wife Anjali. “Feeling blessed after offering prayers to Panchdev Mahadev Temple in Gandhinagar. Prayed for Gujarat’s welfare,” Rupani tweeted. PM Narendra Modi held a road show waving to the crowd gathered on his way from the airport in Ahmedabad.

Five days after the BJP won the Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017, Vijay Rupani and Nitin Patel were elected the leader and deputy leader of the state legislature party on Friday. Announcing the party’s decision, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, at a press conference in Ahmedabad, had said, “The party has chosen Vijay Rupani as Legislature leader unanimously, Nitin Bhai Patel as the deputy Legislature party leader in a meeting today.”

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) managed to win the sixth consecutive state assembly election with 99 seats out of a total of 182.