Agartala, Sep 13: By-elections for the tribal-reserved Manu assembly constituency in Tripura began Saturday, an official said. Tripura Chief Electoral officer Ashutosh Jindal said 38,843 voters, including 18,929 women, are eligible to vote in 46 polling stations in 38 locations.

There are six candidates in the fray.

The by-poll was necessitated after former forest and rural development minister Jitendra Chaudhary, who won the seat five times on the CPI-M ticket, was elected to the Lok Sabha from the Tripura East constituency.