Kolkata, Jan 31: The bye-election results of Uluberia Lok Sabha and Noapara Assembly seats in West Bengal will be declared today. The bypolls to Uluberia Lok Sabha and Noapara Assembly seats were held on January 29. Over 76 per cent of the electorate in West Bengal’s Uluberia Lok Sabha constituency and 75.3 per cent in the Noapara Assembly seat voted in bypolls. The main contest is between the ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) and Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), which is trying hard to emerge as principle opposition in Mamata Banerjee’s West Bengal. Also Read - Pakistan Minister Admitting Involvement in Pulwama Attack Reveals Truth, Says Rajnath Singh

The bye-elections were necessitated by the death of Sultan Ahmed, the sitting TMC MP from Uluberia, and of Madhusudan Ghose, Congress MLA from the Noapara Assembly seat. To retain the Uluberia parliamentary seat, TMC fielded Sultan Ahmed’s widow, Sajda. The CPI(M)-led Left Front nominated Sabiruddin Molla, the Congress fielded S K Madassar Hossain Warsi and the BJP, its district committee leader, Anupam Mallik. Five independent candidates are also in the fray for the Lok Sabha seat. Also Read - Kulgam Killing: Coward Pakistanis Will Pay Heavy Price, Each of Them Will be Neutralised, Says J&K BJP Chief

In Noapara Assembly constituency, the Congress nominated Goutam Bose to retain the seat. TMC fielded Sunil Singh and the CPI(M) Gargi Chatterjee. Sandip Banerjee of the BJP is also in the fray. In 2016, TMC bagged 211 out of the 295 seats in West Bengal Assembly elections. The Congress won 44, the Left front 32 and the BJP 6 seats. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, TMC won 34 seats out of the 44 parliamentary seats in West Bengal. The Congress bagged four and Left Front and BJP two seats each. Also Read - 3 Local BJP Leaders Killed by Militants in Kashmir’s Kulgam, Resistance Front Claims Responsibility