Kolkata, Apr 10: The Trinamool Congress has been declared elected unopposed on several seats in the West Bengal Panchayat Elections 2018. Even as the Election Commission extended the last date of filing nominations by a day for the Panchayat elections, several TMC candidates were declared winners unopposed ahead of poll panel’s notification. The Opposition parties have called it a farce, accusing the TMC of not letting their candidates file nominations for the Panchayat polls. Meanwhile, the West Bengal EC revoked its notification on extending last date for filing of nominations.Also Read - Locals Show Shoes, Shout 'Chor, Chor' At TMC Leader Anubrata Mondal In CBI Court | Watch

In Birbhum Zilla Parishad, the TMC has been declared elected unopposed on 41 out of 42 seats, while the party has won 14 out of 19 Panchayat Samiti seats here. In Bharatpur II and Barwan, the party won all 21 and 37 Panchayat samiti seats respectively. The TMC also won 29 of 30 Panchayat Samiti seats in Murshidabad’s Kandi. Also Read - Airfare Caps Imposed on Airlines To be Removed from This Date | Deets Inside

The West Bengal Election Commission had extended the last date for filing nominations until April 10 for Panchayat elections. This decision was taken after violence marred the filling of nominations for Panchayat polls in the state. It has now been revoked. Also Read - 5 Reasons Behind The Split Between JDU And BJP

The EC notification had come after the Supreme Court on Monday refused to interfere into Bharatiya Janata Party’s petition for seeking deployment of CRPF and other demands on West Bengal Panchayat Elections 2018. Besides the deployment of CRPF, the BJP had sought availability of online application and other demands in Panchayat polls. The bench of Chief Justice Dipak Misra and justices A M Khanwilkar and D Y Chandrachud, however, asked the petitioner, BJP state general secretary Pratap Banerjee, to approach the West Bengal state election commission regarding the same.

The BJP in its petition had alleged that its candidates were not being allowed to file their nomination papers for the upcoming Panchayat polls in the state. The party had sought the court’s intervention to ensure that its nominees are allowed to file nominations.

On April 6, over 25 political party workers were injured after a clash erupted between workers of TMC and BJP in Jalpaiguri district over the filing of nomination for the upcoming Panchayat polls.

The West Bengal Panchayat elections 2018 will be held in three phases. Voting will be held on May on 1, 3 and 5 and the counting of votes will take place on May 8.