New Delhi: Trinamool Congress on Wednesday gave notice in Rajya Sabha under rule 267 to “immediately discuss the threat to nation’s institutions like Reserve Bank of India (RBI)”, during the ongoing winter session of Parliament which began on Tuesday. Also Read - Bengal Polls 2021: BJP’s Diamond Harbour Candidate Dipak Halder, Supporters Thrashed; 9 Injured

Further, Congress MP Ranjeet Ranjan also gave an adjournment motion notice in Lok Sabha over RBI issue and demonetisation, news agency ANI reported. Also Read - Bengal, Assam Round 2 Polling Today: All Eyes On Mamata Banerjee Vs Suvendu Adhikari In Nandigram

This comes a day after Urjit Patel gave steeped down from the position of the Governor of India’s Central Bank. It must be noted that Patel tendered his resignation citing personal reasons. Also Read - 'Unite Against BJP': West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee Writes Letter To 15 Opposition Leaders

“On account of personal reasons, I have decided to step down from my current position (RBI Governor) effective immediately. It has been my privilege and honour to serve in the Reserve Bank of India in various capacities over the years,” the former governor of RBI said. “The support and hard work of RBI staff, officers and management has been proximate driver of Bank’s considerable accomplishments in recent years. I take this opportunity to express gratitude to my colleagues and Directors of RBI Central Board and wish them all the best for future,” Patel added.

Following the resignation, topmost politicians reacted with shock. Slamming the government over resignations of RBI Governor and Chief Economic Advisor Arvind Subramanian, senior Congress leader Kapil Sibal said, “People he (PM) appointed are resigning, first Arvind Subramanian left as CEO and now it’s Urjit Patel. Economy is suffering, Modi thinks that he’s the biggest economist and he doesn’t need them, so they are resigning”.

It must be noted that the winter session will end on January 8. Yesterday, the session was adjourned, after obituary references to former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, former Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee and four sitting members.

As soon as the House assembled, Speaker Sumitra Mahajan read out the obituary references to Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Somnath Chatterjee, Union Minister Ananth Kumar, sitting lawmakers Bhola Singh, MI Shanavas and Mohammad Asrarul Haque. After the obituary references, Ms Mahajan adjourned the House for the day.