New Delhi: Year 2017 has witnessed a numerous train derailment incidents and accidents that claimed hundreds of lives and left scores injured. The series of train derailment incidents and accidents even forced Suresh Prabhu to offer resignation from his post of railway minister but, it was during the reshuffle of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Council of Ministers in October that Prabhu was replaced with Piyush Goyal. (ALSO READ – Yearender 2017: Elections That BJP Won Under PM Modi’s Leadership This Year) Also Read - Indian Railways Latest News: Platform Ticket Rates Hiked. Check Price Details Here

As far as accidents were concerned, despite Prabhu’s exit, the actual numbers showed an improvement from last year. Derailments decreased – from 78 in 2016-2017 to 37 – in the first eight months of this year. During April 1 to November 30, a total of 49 consequential train accidents took place in comparison to 104 in 2016-2017 and 107 in 2015-2016, according to figures provided by the railways. Also Read - Entertainment on Wheels: Railways Set to Introduce On-Demand Movies, Videos, News in Different Languages on Trains. Deets Inside

Overall, this year, 48 people lost their lives and 188 were injured in train accidents as compared to 238 deaths and 607 injuries reported in 2016. Also Read - CAIT Announces Nationwide Movement Against New Amendments in GST and E-Commerce

Here is The List of Train Derailments/Accidents in 2017 

21 January 2017 – 41 persons were killed and 68 others were left injured as train number 18448 Jagdalpur–Bhubaneswar Hirakhand Express derailed near Kuneru, Vizianagaram.

7 March 2017 – A bomb explosion inside Bhopal-Ujjain Passenger train at Jabri railway station left 10 persons injured. The responsibility of the attack was claimed by the Islamic State.

30 March 2017 – 52 persons were left injured as eight coaches of Mahakaushal Express derailed near Uttar Pradesh’s Kulpahar. The improper welding of track’s joint and oxidised track was said to be reasons behind the derailment.

9 April 2017 – Engine of a goods train derailed between Madpur and Jakpur in Howrah-Kharagpur section of South Eastern Railway. No casualties or injuries were reported.

15 April 2017 – The Meerut–Lucknow Rajya Rani Express derailed 8 coaches near Rampur; injuring at least 24. Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath had announced Rs 50,000 ex-gratia for each of the seriously injured and Rs 25,000 ex-gratia for each of the injured. The Railways, too, announced ex-gratia of Rs 50,000 for the injured, and this money has been disbursed.

19 August 2017 – Train number 18478 Puri–Haridwar Kalinga Utkal Express derailed in Khatauli, Muzaffarnagar, Uttar Pradesh around 5.45 pm. At least 23 persons were killed and 97 others were left injured.

23 August 2017 – Auraiya train derailment occurred when the Kaifiyat Express (12225) derailed between Pata and Achalda railway stations around 02:40 am (IST). Around 100 people were injured.

24 November 2017 – Vasco Da Gama-Patna Express derailment occurred in Chitrakoot, Uttar Pradesh killing three people and leaving around nine injured.

24 November 2017 – Wagons of the Paradeep-Cuttack goods train loaded with imported coal derailed between Goraknath-Raghunathpur. No one was injured.

With change in the leadership, it will be interesting to see how well the Indian Railways will be able to fare in curtailing rail accidents, derailments and mishaps.