New Delhi: YSRCP chief Y S Jaganmohan Reddy took oath as the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh on Thursday. Keeping the ceremony short, Jagan took oath alone while his Cabinet is likely to be announced on June 7.

With this, Jagan Mohan has become the second Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh since its bifurcation.

He was sworn in by Governor E S L Narasimhan at a ceremony attended by over 40,000 people at the Indira Gandhi Municipal Stadium in Vijayawada.

Soon after he took the oath, Jagan received blessings from religious leaders of Christian, Muslim and Hindu communities, who chanted prayers and sang hymns on stage.

Among those who attended were Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhara Rao and DMK president M K Stalin.

Telangana Deputy Chief Minister Mahmood Ali, Assembly Speaker Pocharam Srinivasa Reddy, minister Talasani Srinivasa Yadav also attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Jagan’s mother and YSRC honorary president Y S Vijayamma, his wife Bharati and sister Sharmila were also seated on the dais. Reddy reached the stadium and went around the galleries in an open-top jeep to greet those who were present to witness his oath-taking.

Since he hasn’t announced any minister names, speculations are rife over the likely candidates. Some reports said Peddireddy Ramchandra Reddy may get Home, Dharmana Prasad Rao Revenue Department and Buggana Rajendranath is likely to get Finance Ministry.

Adimulapu Suresh, Tellam Balaraju, Kona Raghupathi, Dr M Jagan Mohan Rao are also on the list of aspirants.

Jagan reduced the incumbent TDP to a mere 23 Assembly seats in the 175-seat Assembly. Besides winning 151 Assembly seats, the YSRCP also won 22 Lok Sabha seats and emerged the fourth-largest party in the Parliament after BJP, Congress and DMK.