New Delhi, Jul 20: The Lok Sabha is set to debate and vote on the no-confidence motion against the BJP-led NDA Government today. Thursday had seen both the BJP and the Opposition, led by the Congress, sharpen their attacks on each other. Also Read - Delhi Lockdown Extended: Will You Need An E-Pass For Travelling From Noida/Ghaziabad To Delhi? Know Here

For the debate that will begin at 11 AM and would go on without a lunch break, seven hours have been set aside. Officials said as per calculations based on the strength of a party in the House, the BJP will get 3 hours 33 minutes, Congress, 38 minutes, AIADMK, 29 minutes, TMC, 27 minutes, BJD, 15, Shiv Sena, 14, TDP, 13 and TRS would get 9 minutes. While CPI(M) will get 7 minutes, SP will get 6 minutes, NCP, 6 minutes, and the LJSP, 5 minutes. Also Read - BJP's Troubleshooter, NE's Most Influential Politician Himanta Biswa Sarma to Take Oath as Assam CM Today

Ahead of the no-confidence motion, both the Congress and AAP have issued a whip to its MPs, asking them to be present in the Parliament. The notices for the motion moved by several Opposition parties were accepted by Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on the opening day of the Monsoon Session of the Parliament. Also Read - Mothers' Day Special: After Couple Tests Covid Positive, Delhi Cop Comes to Rescue of Their 6-Month-Old

The ruling coalition, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), has appeared confident of the numbers with Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar saying that it will be “NDA plus” at the end of voting. “We have talked to several parties. We will get fresh support from the south and the northeast.”

In the 545-member (including the Speaker) Lok Sabha, the BJP-led NDA can bank on around 311 members in the Lok Sabha including 273 of BJP, 18 of Shiv Sena and four of SAD.

Taking a jibe at Congress leader Sonia Gandhi, Union Minister Ananth Kumar said that the Opposition calculation for a no-confidence motion against the Modi government was wrong. His remark came a day after Sonia Gandhi had said, “Who says we don’t have the numbers?”

Shiv Sena Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray agreed to support the government on the issue after a conversation with BJP President Amit Shah over the phone. The party also issued a three-line whip to its members, asking them to be present in the Parliament on July 20 for the no-confidence motion. Shiv Sena members feel that since the no-confidence motion has been moved by Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party (TDP), it should not be given much importance, according to Zee News sources.

BJP sources said Modi will speak for about one-and-a-half hours. Partry MPs Anurag Kashyap and Hukumdev Narayan Yadav may also speak in the debate.

The Congress, the key rival of the BJP in poll-bound Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Chhattisgarh, is expected to target the government on issues ranging from economy, problems of farmers and unemployment to the situation in Jammu and Kashmir and petroleum prices.

The motion will be the first to be faced by the Narendra Modi government, which is left with less than a year in office. The Opposition parties had brought in a no-confidence motion against the government on issues like Grant of special status to Andhra Pradesh, lynching, atrocities against women and Dalits and dilution of a law meant for Scheduled Caste.

(With agency inputs)