New Delhi, Jul 18: The Delhi High Court on Wednesday ruled that vehicles of India’s top constitutional authorities like the President, the Vice President, Governors and Lieutenant Governors will soon have to get registration numbers. The court said that the vehicles of these authorities need to get proper registration and shall clearly display the registration numbers. Also Read - 'May Everyone be Blessed With Joy, Good Health': PM Modi, Vice President Naidu Extend Onam Greetings

In December last year, the Delhi High Court had asked the Centre and the Delhi state government to place before it the rules regarding display of just the State Emblem of India on the cars of the constitutional authorities and dignitaries, such as the President, instead of their registration numbers, PTI had reported. Also Read - Emmanuel Macron, Angela Merkel Greet Each Other With 'Namaste', Video Goes Viral | Watch

According to Zee media reports, a plea had been filed in the Delhi High Court seeking to enforce the display of registration numbers on cars of constitutional authorities and dignitaries instead of just the State Emblem of India. The petition was filed by an NGO.  The plea referred to an RTI response by the Ministry of External Affairs admitting that none of its 14 cars maintained by its protocol division were registered. But it also said that the Rashtrapati Bhawan refused to supply the registration numbers of its cars on the ground that disclosure of this information would endanger the security of the state and life and physical safety of the President.

It said that a person meeting with an accident involving such a car cannot bring any claim against it as due to the absence of any identification mark, the vehicles ownership cannot be known and the citizens get the message that if a dignitary could disobey the law and get away with it, so could they.

Last year, the Union Cabinet had decided that no dignitary, minister, central government employee, lawmaker or judge will be allowed to use red beacons atop their official cars. Even the president, vice president, the prime minister, chief justice of India and Lok Sabha Speaker, who were earlier reported to be exempted, will be covered under the rule except for ambulances, police vehicles and fire brigades.