New Delhi, May 4: Karnataka’s  Sorab, Sagar, Byndoor, Kundapura and Udupi assembly seats will go to polls on May 12 and the results will be declared three days later on May 15. The 224-member Assembly expires on May 28 in the state where the Congress is currently in power, with 122 seats against the BJP’s 43. Also Read - MP Woman Pours Boiling Hot Oil on Husband's Face For Returning Home Late, He Suffers Severe Burn Injuries

The major national parties contesting the elections are Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Janata Dal and Janata Dal (Secular). Apart from that, several regional parties like Coorg National Council, Kannad Chalavali Vatal Paksha, Karnataka Congress Party, Karnataka Kranti Ranga and Karnataka Vikas Party are influential among their respective castes. Also Read - Horrific! MP Man Kills Wife & Stuffs Her Body in Bed Box, Then Sleeps on The Same Bed For 2 Days!

Here are some details of Sorab, Sagar, Byndoor, Kundapura and Udupi Assembly seats: Also Read - MP: Debt-ridden Man Commits Suicide After Paying Contract Killer to Murder Wife, Daughter

Sorab: In constituency number 116, five powerful candidates are in the fray: S Kumara Bangarappa (BJP), Raju. M. Talluru (Congress), S.Madhu Bangarappa (JDS), Asadulla.T.K (Asood) (AIMEP), H.B.Gangadharappa (Swaraj India). In 2013, the Vidhan Sabha Seat was won by S.Madhu Bangarappa of Janata Dal Secular. He had defeated H.Halappa of KJP.

Sagar: Constituency number 117 will witness a tough battle between BJP, Congress, JD(s) Swaraj India and AIMEP. The sitting MLA of Sagar is Kagodu Thimmappa (INC). For May 12 polls, five main contenders are in fray from Sagar Vidhan Sabha Seat. They are: H Halappa (BJP), Kagodu Thimmappa (INC), M B Girishgowda (JDS), Kalavathi (AIMEP) and Parameshwara (Swaraj India). Several Independent candidates are also in fray.

Byndoor: In Byndoor Vidhan Sabha seat there is a tough fight between the Congress, BJP and some independent candidates. BM Sukumar Shetty (BJP), K Gopala Poojary (INC), Suresh Kallagar (CPM), Ravi Shetty (JDs), Abdul Hajeed (AIMEP)are some of the heavyweights contesting from Pynthorumkhrah.

Kundapura: In Kundapura assembly constituency there is a tough fight between the Congress, BJP, JD(S) and some independent candidates. BJP’s Halady Srinivas Shetty, INC’s Rakesh Malli, JD(S)’ Thekkatte Prakash Shetty, JD(U)’s Rajiv Kotian and RPI(A) Sudhakara Soorgoli are in fray for May 12 elections. Presently, the seat is vacant.

Udupi: Constituency number 120 will see a tough fight between BJP’s K Raghupathi Bhat, Congress’ Pramod Madhwaraj, JD(S)’ Birthi Gangandhar Bhandary on May 12. Several Independent candidates are also in fray from Udupi Assembly seat. In 2013, INC’s Pramod Madhwaraj had defeated BJP’s B. Sudhakar Shetty