Beijing, June 12: China is leading the pack of nations within the Nuclear Suppliers’ Group (NSG) who are opposed to the idea of including India in the nuclear trading group. In reaction to India’s aggressive NSG bid, Beijing released a public statement expressing its apprehensions. In its reaction, China has made it clear that it would maintain difference with United States, Switzerland and Mexico over the inclusion of those countries within the NSG who have not signed the Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) treaty.Also Read - IND vs NZ, 1st Test: Time Wasted By Umpires Might Have Robbed India a Test Win vs New Zealand, ICC Need to Rethink On Rules of the Game

“Large differences remain over the entry of non-NPT countries to NSG. Criteria should apply equally, rather than tailor-made rules for US allies,” Beijing reacted over the backing received by Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi from his counterparts in Switzerland, Mexico and US. Also Read - 1st Test: It is So Lopsided in Their Favour It is Not Funny, Says Ian Smith on New Zealand's Chance of Winning vs India

India’s inclusion is opposed by New Zealand, Ireland, Turkey, South Africa and Austria, alongside China. They have argued that the entry of a nation which has not committed itself to NPT would undermine the whole purpose of creating an institution like NSG. Also Read - India Tightens Rules For International Flyers As Omicron Variant Spreads | Read Full SOPs Here

They have also raised the concern that granting membership to India would provoke its arch-nemesis Pakistan. Islamabad has already began its own NSG inclusion campaign in retaliation to Modi’s efforts.