Kuwait City, Feb 2: United States President Donald Trump on Friday banned seven Muslim-majority countries from entering the United States. However, since 2011, citizens of Pakistan, Syria, Iraq, Iran and Afghanistan have not been able to gain tourism or trade visas to Kuwait. According to sources, the restrictions on the five countries have been added due to the “instability” in the five countries and the ban from these countries will only be lifted if the security situation in these countries improved. Also Read - India's NSA Ajit Doval Walks Out of SCO Meet as Pakistan Presents 'Fictitious Map' Showing Jammu and Kashmir as Its Own

In 2011, Kuwait banned the passport holders of the five countries from entering into the Gulf state. It has specifically asked the banned countries to not to apply for visas. Kuwait had placed the ban in 2011 terming it as a “temporary ban,” but the ban is still in force in the country which raises the question, what do officials really mean when they suggest a “temporary ban”? US President Donald Trump on Friday signed an executive order of “temporarily” banning 7 Muslim-majority country from entering the United States for the next 90 days. (Also read: Kuwait imposes visa ban on Pakistan, 4 other Muslim nations: Read full details) Also Read - Jammu and Kashmir: Pakistan Shells Mortars in Poonch District Along LoC, Indian Army Retaliates

Kuwait is concerned about the threat of the extremist groups such as Al-Qaeda and ISIS that have their footholds in Syria, Iraq, Afghanistan and Pakistan. Apart from this, Pakistan and Afghanistan continue to witness violence from the extremist groups whereas Iraq and Syria are embroiled in internal conflicts. Also Read - Outrage in Pakistan After Robbers Gang-Rape Woman in Front of Her 3 Children in Punjab Province

However, despite the ban, the Gulf state has been targeted in a number of militant attacks which also led to bombing of a Shia mosque in 2015 which led to death of 27 Kuwaitis.

Before US banned Syrians from entering the country, Kuwait was the only country in the world to officially bar entry to Syrians.