Islamabad, August 4: The swearing in ceremony of Pakistan Prime Minister-designate Imran Khan is expected to be deferred and may not take place on August 11, as expected earlier, claimed media reports on Saturday. According to reports, .the oath-taking ceremony is now likely to be held on August 14 (Pakistan’s Independence Day) or August 15. Also Read - Pakistan Minister Addresses Presser 2 Hours Late, Journalists Stage Walkout | Watch Viral Video

Law Minister Ali Zafar while speaking to Dawn News said that he, along with caretaker Prime Minister Nasirul Mulk, want the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief’s swearing-in to take place on August 14 (the country’s Independence Day). Also Read - PSL 2021 Schedule: Despite COVID-19 Surge, Pakistan Super League to Resume From June 1

“We wanted that the new prime minister should take his oath on Independence Day so that the new government can start its functioning with full national fervour and commitment to bring progress to the country,” Zafar said. Also Read - PUBG Addict Recreates Scene From The Game in Real Life, Kills 2 People & Injures 3 Family Members

The caretaker law minister told the media that as per the Constitution, the first session of the National Assembly would have to be summoned within 21 days after the general election. It was necessary to fulfil this obligation by August 15.

The development comes days after it was reported that Imran Khan has decided to keep the swearing-in ceremony very simple. Initially, his party had planned to invite several foreign leaders and personalities, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Bollywood superstar Amir Khan and Indian cricketers like Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavasker and Navjot Singh Sidhu to the event. However, in an apparent change of heart , Khan had opted against a fancy ceremony, Dawn newspaper had reported.

Khan’s PTI emerged as the single largest party in the National Assembly with 115 general seats, while with the addition of the general and reserved seats of its allies, the party claimed to have secured at least 172 seats, according to Dawn. Former Premier Nawaz Sharif’s Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz and Bilawal Bhutto-led Pakistan Peoples Party won 64 and 43 general seats, respectively.

(With agency inputs)