The reason could be BIZARRE – but so is the year – 2020! So, believing in bizarre is not all that strange. With the much-anticipated IPL final minutes away, the Delhi Capitals could actually stun the overwhelming favourites and defending champions Mumbai Indians. Ok, so here is the catch!Also Read - Virat Kohli Backs Ajinkya Rahane Ahead of India Tour of South Africa, Heaps Praise on Mohammed Siraj

2008, 2012, and 2016 were Leap years and when the final was played – a new team won. In the inaugural edition of IPL in 2008 (leap year), Rajasthan Royals became the first-ever champions of the competition, beating CSK in the final. In 2012, Kolkata Knight Riders won their maiden title, while in 2016, it was David Warner’s Sunrisers Hyderabad that broke their title drought. Also Read - IND vs NZ, 2nd Test: New Zealand's Mitchell Santner Bags Rs 1 Lakh For Stunning Fielding Effort

This is 2020 and you should not be shocked if the unexpected happens – that is if Capitals win their maiden title. But again, for that to happen, the Capitals have to play out of their skin to upstage the defending champs. Capitals have the team and the big players, but they will have to rise to the occasion and get counted when it matters the most. Also Read - Rahul Dravid Hails Shreyas Iyer, Mayank Agarwal, Jayant Yadav And Axar Patel After India Beat New Zealand by 372 Runs to Win Test Series 1-0

Commentator Aakash Chopra believes that the Capitals should slot Ajinkya Rahane at the top with Shikhar Dhawan, instead of Marcus Stoinis as MI have a potent pace-bowling unit with Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult, and James Pattinson.

“But Stoinis as an opener in front of Mumbai, whose bowling standards are very high, I am not 100% certain if Stoinis will be able to score runs. They may actually go back to Rahane as an opener. I would actually entertain that thought when I see the bowling in front of them – Bumrah, Boult, and Pattinson – would it be possible to slog with the new ball, I am not 100% certain,” the 43-year-old said.

For MI it would be a record-extending fifth title. They have also got the better of DC three times already this season.