Kathmandu, Dec 7: Voting for the second phase of Nepal Federal Parliament and Provincial Elections 2017 (Nepalese Calendar Year) concluded on Thursday. Voting was held across 45 districts. A total of 235,993 voters in these districts will elect 128 representatives for Federal Parliament and 256 for the Provincial Councils. Counting of votes for both phases will begin soon.Also Read - Nepal Elections 2017: Leftist Alliance Set For Victory

A total of 4, 482 candidates were in the fray for the seats on the basis of First Past the Post (FPTP) electoral system with only 400 women candidates. The Nepal Election Commission had allocated 7,752 polling centres with 15,344 polling booths. Also Read - Nepal Federal Parliament And Provincial Elections 2017 Results Live News Updates: Left Alliance Heading For Landslide Victory, Wins 106 Seats

Security has been tightened across Nepal amid volatile situation during polls. Nepal has closed its border with India for 72 hours at more than 22 different entry points for the second round. The Nepal Army, Nepal Police, Armed Police Force and National Investigation Department have been deployed at the polling booth sites to maintain calm during the elections. Also Read - Nepal Federal Parliament and Provincial Elections 2017: Voting For Second Phase on December 7, EC Says Results Will be Out Within 8 Days

The contest in Nepal is between the CPN-UML, CPN-Maoist Centre and Nepali Congress.

Nepal Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, on Wednesday, asked citizens to exercise their right to vote in the biggest festival of democracy. “With the commencement of the local, provincial and the parliamentary election, I hope that the political transition in the nation will come to an end along with it will head towards the path of prosperity,” Deuba said in a statement on Wednesday.