The 2020 Nobel Prize for Physics has been awarded to Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Gheza for their research on black holes. Also Read - Nobel Prize in Medicine Awarded to Harvey J. Alter, Michael Houghton & Charles M. Rice For Discovery of Hepatitis C Virus

The Nobel Committee decided to award the 2020 Nobel Prize in Physics with one half to Roger Penrose and the other half jointly to Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez.

While Penrose demonstrated that black holes were an inevitable consequence of Albert’s Einstein’s theory of general relativity, Genzel and Ghez provided the most convincing evidence yet of a supermassive black hole at the centre of our galaxy – the Milky Way.

The head of the Nobel Committee, Thomas Perlmann, announced the winners at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm.

The prestigious award comes with a gold medal and prize money of 10 million Swedish kronor (more than $1.1 million), courtesy of a bequest left 124 years ago by the prize’s creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel.

Notably, the award is the second of six prizes being announced and other prizes in the fields of, chemistry, literature, peace and economics will be declared in the coming days.

Yesterday, The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded to Harvey J. Alter, Michael Houghton and Charles M. Rice “for the discovery of Hepatitis C virus.”