New Delhi: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on Tuesday awarded 2018 Nobel Prize for Physics to Arthur Ashkin and the other half jointly to Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland “for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics”.  Further, Strickland is the third female to bag this huge honour in the field of Physics.

“French physicist Gérard Mourou and Canadian physicist Donna Strickland share the other half of the prize for their work on developing very, very short and very intense laser pulses,” the Guardian reported. Arthur Ashkin, an American physicist who was awarded the first half of the prize for inventing optical tweezers, told the newspaper, “It’s all about the light.”

It must be noted that the Nobel Prize is awarded annually to people who have made great discoveries in various fields such as Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, Economics, and the promotion of peace. The prize was first awarded in 1901. The prize is given out by members of Swedish learned societies, as Google puts it. In the case of the Nobel prize which is given for peace, the Norwegian Parliament decides it.

Further, James Allison was awarded the 2018 Nobel Prize for Medicine. He said that he never dreamed that his research would take the direction it has. The American immunologist and Tasuku Honjo of Japan jointly won on Monday the 2018 Nobel Medicine Prize for research into how the body’s natural defences can fight cancer. He is the first MD Anderson scientist to receive the world’s most preeminent award for outstanding discoveries in the fields of life sciences and medicine. “By stimulating the ability of our immune system to attack tumour cells, this year’s Nobel Prize laureates have established an entirely new principle for cancer therapy,” the Nobel Assembly of Karolinska Institute in Stockholm noted while announcing the award to 70-year-old Allison and 76-year-old Honjo, MD, Ph.D, of Kyoto University in Japan.