New Delhi, Aug 17: Cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan was on Friday elected as Pakistan’s 22nd Prime Minister by the National Assembly. Khan, whose party swept the July 25 general election, will take the oath of office on Saturday. Also Read - Coronavirus: India Registers Highest-Ever Spike of 22,771; Inches Closer to 6.5 Lakh-Mark

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf chief won with 176 seats while his opponent, Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) President Shehbaz Sharif, secured 96 votes , Dawn online reported. Also Read - Vaccine by August 15: Covaxin Being Monitored by Top-Most Level of Government, ICMR Writes to Hospitals, Warns Them Against Laxity

Former cricketer turned politician Navjot Singh Sidhu has also reached Pakistan to attend the oath-taking ceremony of Imran Khan.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf party had said Khan’s oath-taking ceremony would take place at the President House in Islamabad.

Khan’s party, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), has emerged as the single-largest party in the National Assembly in the general election. The PTI bagged 116 general seats, which is 22 short of a simple majority. The election was marred by tedious counting, violence and allegations of rigging by major political parties, including the PML-N and PPP. The opposition parties had rejected the results and demanded a transparent re-election. The PTI has claimed that it had enough numbers to form the government at the centre in coalition with other smaller parties.