Doha: As a precaution against the rapidly spreading coronavirus, Qatar has temporarily barred travellers from 14 countries, including India from Monday. The entry ban is applicable for all travellers from India to Qatar. Also Read - Sensex Plunges 1,300 Points, Nifty Slips Below 10,600 Over Coronavirus Fears & Yes Bank Crisis

Apart from India, the ban applies to Bangladesh, China, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Nepal, Pakistan, the Philippines, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Syria and Thailand. Also Read - Coronavirus: Air Force C-17 Globemaster Departs to Bring Back Stranded Indians From Iran | Highlights

“The step comes in line with the State of Qatar’s efforts to take all necessary preventive measures to limit the spread of the virus,” the Qatar government said in an advisory. Also Read - Arunachal Man Booked for Spreading Rumours About Coronavirus on Social Media

According to the Qatari government, travel restrictions will cover all individuals entering from these countries, including those with residence or work permits, temporary visas, and visas upon arrival.

The government’s move comes as Ministry of Health reported three more cases of the coronavirus on Sunday, bringing the total to 15. There were no recorded deaths in the country yet.

Residents of Qatar were also advised to not visit the countries unless it is absolutely necessary. Meanwhile, Qatar Airways had already suspended flights to and from Italy, the country which has recorded the most deaths from the COVID-19 disease after China.

The global death toll from the virus is around 3,500, with more than 100,000 confirmed cases, according to the World Health Organization (WHO).