Islamabad, August 1: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Shahid Khaqan Abbasi will be the new Prime Minister of India’s estranged neighbour, Pakistan. His party has a comfortable majority in National Assembly and will be easily elected as Nawaz Sharif’s successor.

The PML-N has 172 members in National Assembly–which is more than the required number to elect the new Prime Minister. Opposition parties failed to weed out differences between them as they couldn’t agree on a consensus candidate against the PML-N nominee. Five candidates of four political parties are in the fray for the coveted post. Syed Khurshid Shah and Syed Naveed Qamar of the Pakistan Peoples Party, Sheikh Rashid Ahmed of the Awami Muslim League as PTI nominee, Sahibzada Tariqullah of the Jamaat-i-Islami and Kishwar Zehra of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement are also trying their luck. (Also read: Shahid Khaqan Abbasi Selected as Interim Prime Minister of Pakistan)

Abbasi is facing a corruption reference in NAB. Sheikh Rashid objected to his candidature, which the assembly speaker rejected. This was after President Mamnoon Hussain convened a special session to elect the new Prime Minister. Abbasi said that he would continue with Nawaz Sharif’s policies. PTI fielded Sheikh Rashid as its candidate but failed to build consensus on his name. PPP leaders objected to his nomination.

Pakistan’s former prime minister Nawaz Sharif was disqualified by Supreme Court in Panama Papers case. The apex court said that he was unfit to hold the post of country’s prime minister as he lied to the country. Sharif’s family has allegations of forging documents to buy a plush flat in London. He was chosen as the prime minister in 2013.

The 58-year-old leader has been a close confidante to the Sharif family. He was the petroleum minister in the Sharif government. He had been the commerce minister in the Yousuf Raza Geelani government.