Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

The 61st National Film Awards winners’ list has been declared today. The winners include Arshad Warsi’s Jolly LLB as Best Feature Film – Hindi, and Farhan Akhtar’s Bhaag Milkha Bhaag as Best Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment (the same award that went to Salman Khan’s Dabangg). Bhaag Milkha Bhaag also won for Best Choreography for the song Hawan Karenge (Maston Ka Jhund) choreographed by Ganesh Acharya.

Gulabi Gang got the award for Best Film on Social Issues, so did the Marathi movie Tuhya Dharma Koncha.

Anand Gandhi’s Ship of Theseus won the Best Feature Film and the Best Special Effects went to Purab Kohli-starrer Jal.

The Nargis Dutt Award for Best Film on National Integration went to Tamil film Thalaimuraigal.

Nawazuddin Siddiqui-starrer Miss Lovely and Riteish Deshmukh’s Marathi film Yellow got the Special Jury Award. Miss Lovely also won the Best Production Design award.

The Best Direction award has gone to Hansal Mehta for Shahid. Pranjal Dua also won the Best Director award for short Chidiya Ud.

Rajkummar Rao has been selected as Best Actor for Shahid. He shares the award with Malayalam actor Suraj Venjaramoodu for the movie Perariyathavar. While the Best Actress award went to Geetanjali Thapa for Liar’s Dice.

Liar’s Dice also took home the Best Cinematography award for Rajeev Ravi.

Saurabh Shukla has been declared the Best Supporting Actor for Jolly LLB, while the Best Supporting Actress Award is shared by Alia El Kashif for Ship of Theseus and Amruta Subhash for Astu.

The Best Child Actor award is shared by Somnath Awghade for Marathi film Fandry and Sadhana for Tamil film Thanga Mingal.

Fandry director Nagraj Manjule won the Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director. The Best Children’s Film award went to Kaphal.

Cinema Ga Cinema has been adjudged the Best Book on Cinema, while the Best Film Critic award went to Alka Sahani.

The Best Make Up and Best Costume award went to Bengali film Jatishwar. The film also won Best Music and Best Male Playback Singer for Rupankar for the song E Tumi Kemon Tumi. The Best Female Playback Singer went to Bela Shende for the song Khura Khura from Tuhya Dharma Koncha.

The Best Sound Design award was won by Shoojit Sircar’s Madras Cafe and the Best Dialogue by Marathi film Astu.

Best Editing went to V J Sabu Joseph for Vallinam (Tamil).

Best Feature Film awards for regional cinema include: Marathi – Aajcha Divas Majha, Konkani – Baga Beach, Assamese – Ajeyo, Bengali – Bakitar Byaktigoto, Kannada – December 1, Malayalam – North 24 Kaadham, Tamil – Thanga Mingal, Telugu – Na Bangaru Talli, Khasi – RI, Sherdukpen – The Crossing Bridges and English – The Coffin Maker.

The 61st National Film Awards ceremony will be held on May 3, 2014. For a list of other feature and non-feature awards, visit the official website here.