The 63rd National Film Awards were announced on March 28, 2016, for Indian films released in 2015. Among this honoured include Salman Khan and Harshaali Malhotra’s film Bajrangi Bhaijaan that got the Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment award. The 2015 mega blockbuster Baahubali was adjudged the overall Best Film, while the Ayushmann Khurrana-Bhumi Pednekar film Dum Laga Ke Haisha was honoured with the Best Hindi Film honour at the National Film Awards given by the government of India.

The legendary Amitabh Bachchan has been adjudged the Best Actor for 2015 for his film Piku, while Kangana Ranaut takes home the Best Actress award for her double role in Tanu Weds Manu Returns. This is the fourth time the veteran has been honoured with the Best Actor at the National Film Awards. He has earlier won the same citation for Agneepath, Paa and Black. It is Bachchan’s fifth National Film Award, as he had a mention as Best Newcomer for his debut in Saat Hindustani as well. For Kangana Ranaut, too, it is the third National Film Award, the earlier ones being as Best Actress for her film Queen and Best Supporting Actress for Fashion.

Kalki Koechlin won the Special Jury Award for her film Margarita with a Straw, while boxer Ritika Singh was given a Special Mention for Irudhi Suttru aka Saala Khadoos. Bajirao Mastani has also won two awards – Best Director for Sanjay Leela Bhansali and Best Choreography for Remo D’Souza. Music maestro was honoured with the Best Background Score National Film Award for Thara ThappattaiHere is the full winners list of the 63rd National Film Awards:

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Bajrangi Bhaijaan

Best Film: Baahubali  

Best Hindi Film: Dum Laga Ke Haisha

Best Actress: Kangana Ranaut for Tanu Weds Manu Returns

Best Actor: Amitabh Bachchan for Piku

Best Director: Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Bajirao Mastani

Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director: Neeraj Ghaywan for Masaan

Special Jury Award: Kalki Koechlin for Margarita With A Straw

Special Mention: Ritika Singh for Irudhi Suttru (Saala Khadoos)

Best Supporting Actor: Samuthirakani for Visaaranai

Best Supporting Actress: Tanvi Azmi for Bajirao Mastani

Best Song: Kaathirunnu by Jayachandran in Ennu Ninte Moideen

Best Female Playback Singer: Monali Thakur for Moh Moh Ke Dhage from Dum Laga Ke Haisha

Best Choreography: Remo D’Souza for Bajirao Mastani

Best Cinematography: Sudeep Chatterjee for Bajirao Mastani

Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration: Nanak Shah Fakir

Best Screenplay Writer (Original): Juhi Chaturvedi for Piku and Himanshu Sharma for Tanu Weds Manu Returns

Best Dialogues: Juhi Chaturvedi for Piku and Himanshu Sharma for Tanu Weds Manu Returns

Best Music Direction: M Jayachandran for Kaathirunnu Kaathirunnu from Ennu Ninte Moideen

Best Background Score: Ilaiyarajaa for Thaarai Thappattai

Best Film on Environment Conservation/Preservation: Valiya Chirakulla Pakshikal

Best Editing: Late Kishore T E for Visaranai

Best Costume Designer and Best Make-up Artist for film Nanak Shah Fakir

Best Children’s Film: Duronto

Best Sanskrit Film: Priyamanasam

Best Telugu Film: Kanche

Best Tamil Film: Visaranai

Best Kannada Film: Thithi

Best Punjabi Film: Chauthi Koot

Best Konkani Film: Enemy

Best Assamese Film: Kothanodi

Best Haryanvi Film: Satrangi

Best Khasi Film: Onaatah

Best Manipuri Film: Eibusu Yaohanbiyu

Best Mizo Film: Kima’s Lode Beyond the Class

Best Odiya Film: Pahada Ra Luha

Best Film on Social Issue: Niranayakam

Best Malayalam Film: Pathemari.

Many congratulations to the winners at the 63rd National Film Awards!