Australia is perhaps Bollywood’s favourite foreign destination at the moment. Why, you ask? Well, the Indian Film Festival Of Melbourne (IFFM 2017) is currently taking place there and it’s turning out to be quite a star studded affair. The Film Festival is Australia’s annual celebration of film from India and the subcontinent. The IFFM that started on August 10 will continue till August 22. Last night was the awards’ function and it encompassed all the glitter, glamour, paparazzi , splendid performances and festivities with Bollywood stars like Karan Johar, Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Sushant Singh Rajput, Rajkummar Rao to name a few, who made it to the celebrated event.

The high point of the event was of course watching PrabhasRana Daggubatti‘s, Baahubali 2 and Aamir Khan‘s Dangal that won back to back awards. Both the movies have outperformed at the global Box Office. Needless to say, they garnered immense respect and applause at the IFFM. While Nitesh Tiwari won the Best Director Award for Dangal, the two movies bagged the ‘People’s Choice Award’.  Overwhelmed on receiving the honour, Tiwari said, “This is my first international award and it will truly be remembered”. Another movie that did exceptionally well at the film festival was Alankrita Shrivastava‘s  Lipstick Under My Burkha that won the ‘Best Indie Film’ Award. Konkona Sen Sharma won the best actress for her role in the movie.

Additionally, Aishwarya Rai Bachchan who became the first Indian actor to hoist the Indian National Flag at the film festival got a special mention as she won the “Excellence in Global Cinema Award”. Meanwhile, filmmaker and producer, Karan Johar was bestowed with the “Leadership in Cinema” award.

Check out the complete Winners’ list below:

Best Actress : Konkona Sen Sharma for Lipstick Under my Burkha

Best Actor : Sushant Singh Rajput for Dhoni

Best Actor : (Special Mention) : Raj Kumar Rao for Trapped

Best Director : Nitesh Tiwari for Dangal

Best Film : Pink

People’s Choice Award : Dangal & Bahubali 2

Best Indie Film : Lipstick Under My Burkha

Equality in Cinema Award: Director/Actor Rahul Bose for Poorna

Leadership in Cinema : Karan Johar (he also presented the IFFM Diversity Award to Garth Davis, director of the Academy nominated film LION)

Westpac IFFM Excellence in Global Cinema : Aishwarya Rai Bachchan

Aishwarya was deeply honoured and humbled to receive the award. She said, “I’m so humbled and filed with gratitude to be given this award. We as creative people always wish to do more and I’m far far away from resting. As an artist I have so much more to explore but it’s great to have this honour. But above all I must thank the fans, who have loved me so immensely and it’s because of you we get to live our dream, our passion “.

Upon being given the opportunity to unfurl the Indian National flag at the event, Aishwarya was overwhelmed and expressed her gratitude. The gorgeous actress who was present there with her daughter, Aaradhya, said, “Thank you so much Melbourne, thank you everyone for giving us such a moment of pride and happiness with so much love and warmth. Celebrating our 70th Independence Day will forever be such a beautiful memory for me and my dearest Aaradhya.”

We at would like to take the opportunity to congratulate all the winners. Kudos to the Bollywood fraternity!