2nd India vs Australia Adelaide: Former Australian wicketkeeper Adam Gilchrist has reacted on the short-run taken by MS Dhoni during the 2nd ODI at Adelaide. Gilchrist on live commentary said that he fears what if this goes down to the wire. And it did go down to the wire as a Dhoni six in the final over sealed the deal for India. The Men in Blue won the ODI by six wickets to level the series 1-1. So how big a mistake was it on the part of the umpires? Also Read - CSK vs RR Dream11 Team Prediction VIVO IPL 2021: Captain, Vice Captain, Fantasy Playing Tips, Today's Probable XIs For Today's Chennai Super Kings vs Rajasthan Royals T20 Match 12 at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai 7.30 PM IST April 19 Monday

The episode took place in the last ball of the 45th over with India needing 26 to win off 19 balls. Nathan Lyon was the bowler as Dhoni chipped down the track and played it along the ground for a single to deep long on. Dhoni was walking, not even running after the first few jogs. But, when the throw came in he had reached on the side but had not landed his bat across the line. According to the rulebook, it does not count for a run, but fortunately for former India skipper, no one had noticed it as he retained strike for the next over successfully. Also Read - IPL 2021 Points Table Latest Update After DC vs PBKS, Match 11: Royal Challengers Bangalore Reclaim Top Spot After Beating KKR, Shikhar Dhawan Pips Glenn Maxwell in IPL Orange Cap List, Harshal Patel Bags Purple Cap

ALSO READ: 2nd ODI: ‘Rarest of Rare’! When MS Dhoni Lost His Cool on a Teammate | WATCH Also Read - IPL 2021 Today Match Report, DC vs PBKS Scorecard: Shikhar Dhawan Powers Delhi Capitals to Emphatic Six-Wicket Win Over Punjab Kings

Here is what Gilchrist said on air:

“In Lyon’s last ball of his spell, MS Dhoni chipped him to the onside and straight away said there is no need for any pushing there because I have already hit him for six earlier in the over. Then the over was called and nothing touched the ground there. So this will be interesting with India requiring 25 off 18 and it was in the 45th over, so I wonder if we will hear anything more about that should this go down to the wire,” Gilchrist said.