Also Read - IOA President Narinder Batra Confident India Will Send 125 Athletes to Tokyo Olympics

New Delhi, Sep 24: India’s only individual Olympic gold medallist, Abhinav Bindra, has been re-elected as member of the seven-men Athlete Commission of the International Shooting Sport Federation, the global body governing the sport. Bindra, who was first elected to the body during the 2010 World Shooting Championships in Munich, was re-elected this time during the just-concluded World Shooting Championships in Granada, Spain. Also Read - Sachin Tendulkar to Virat Kohli, Sardar Singh to Abhinav Bindra: India's Sporting Community Pays Tribute to 'Rare Role Model' Balbir Singh Sr.

Out of the 13 athletes nominated by the respective member federations, Bindra emerged as one of the top candidates for the four vacant slots. The other athletes elected were Serbian Zorana Arunovic, Marco De Nicolo from Italy and German shooter Henri Junghaenel. Also Read - Athletes Won't Fear Returning to Stadiums For Training: Shooter Anjum Moudgil

“It’s a great moment for all of us to see that shooters from all over the world have faith in Abhinav and his professionalism. We at NRAI are confident of providing all possible support to Abhinav and all other shooters from the country for their growth and development,” said National Rifle Association of India president Raninder Singh.

The remaining three committee members and the chairman of the committee will be appointed by the ISSF Executive Committee at the next meeting on November 29 in Munich. The ISSF Executive Committee will release the complete results of the elections, including the number of votes obtained by each candidate, after the appointment of the remaining three Committee members and of the chairman.

Bindra announced his retirement from professional shooting but went on to reveal that he will try to participate in the Rio Olympics in 2016. The 31-year-old ended his drought at the 10metre Air Rifle individual event  at the Asian Games by clinching the bronze medal in Incheon, South Korea.