Afghanistan Cricket Board announces a 16-man squad to take on India in the historic Test against India. We say historic because this will be Afghanistan’s debut Test. The historic Test is slated to be played at Bengaluru on June 14. The Test will be played in the iconic MA Chinnaswamy stadium. Experienced Asghar Stanikzai will helm the side in the whites as the team would look to justify the Test status they were awarded by the International Cricket Council (ICC) last year. Rashid Khan, Mohammad Shahzad  and Mohammad Nabi will be the star players featuring in the line up. Rashid will bring his IPL experience to the plate as will Nabi. 18-year-old pacer Wafadar Momand has been included along with Syed Sherzad and Yamin Ahmadzai which makes up the pace bowling attack after Dawlat Zadran was ruled out due to an injury.

Afghanistan has been playing good cricket off-late and that is finally paying dividends it seems. This will be a big occasion for them at the international stage. Earlier in the year, Afghanistan won the ICC World Cup qualifiers, which means they have also sealed their spot at the 2019 Cricket World Cup. They have garnered applause for their style of attacking cricket and with their addition to the cricketing map, it will only make cricket richer one feels.

Attacking batsman Mohammad Shahzad is expected to don the wicketkeeping gloves in the game even as Afsar Zazai, the backup option in the department, has also made it to the squad.

Here is the 16-man squad:

Afghanistan Test squad: Asghar Stanikzai (C), Mohammad Shahzad, Javed Ahmadi, Ihsanullah Jannat, Rahmat Shah, Nasir Jamal, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Zahir Khan, Hamza Hotak, Syed Ahmad Sherzad, Yamin Ahmadzai, Wafadar Momand, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman

Meanwhile the home team announced their squad earlier. Here is the Indian squad.