Afghanistan host Bangladesh in the 1st T20I at Dehradun, Afghanistan’s adopted home. It will be a big opportunity for Afghanistan to play competitive cricket before they get ready to take on India in the historic one-off Test. Afghanistan should start favourites even though there are question marks over Mujeeb-ur-Rahman’s availability. Even otherwise, Afghanistan enjoys a better rank at the ICC ODI Ranking.Also Read - IPL 2022 Retention: KL Rahul to Become Most Expensive Player in IPL History With Rs 20 Crore Salary? Watch Video to Find Out

Shakib, on the other hand, has had good exposure to Indian conditions in the recently concluded IPL season, where he played for SunRisers Hyderabad. Also Read - IPL 2022: Threat of Ban Looms Large on KL Rahul, Rashid Khan Before IPL Mega Auctions | Report

Afghanistan Strengths: Also Read - 11 IFS Officers at Dehradun’s FRI Old Hostel, 6 People in Tibetans Colony Test COVID Positive, 2 Areas Declared Containment Zone

Afghanistan will be relying heavily on Rashid Khan. Rashid has been in the phenomenal form off late with the ball and the bat, as and when needed. With the bat, Mohammad Shahzad and Asghar Stanikzai will bring in experience to the table which will be invaluable against Bangladesh.

Here is the schedule of the 3-match ODI Series.

Meanwhile, in a practice game against Afganistan A, the Bangladesh team lost the match by 8 wickets.

Bangladesh Strengths:

Bangladesh would also rely heavily on Tamim Iqbal to get them off to a good start at the top. Rahim in the middle order could play the pivot around which the team revolves, he brings a whole of experience to the table. Mahmudullah has also shown glimpses that he can provide the finishing kick in the fag end of the innings.


Afghanistan (probable): 1 Mohammad Shahzad (wk), 2 Asghar Stanikzai (capt), 3 Najeeb Tarakai, 4 Mohammad Nabi, 5 Najibullah Zadran, 6 Shafiqullah, 7 Sharafuddin Ashraf, 8 Gulbadin Naib, 9 Rashid Khan, 10 Aftab Alam, 11 Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Bangladesh (probable): 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Liton Das, 3 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 4 Shakib Al Hasan (capt), 5 Mahmudullah, 6 Sabbir Rahman, 7 Mosaddek Hossain 8 Mehidy Hasan, 9 Abu Hider, 10 Rubel Hossain, 11 Nazmul Islam