Ajinkya Rahane, who flopped with the bat in the just-ended five-Test series in England, was named on Wednesday to lead Mumbai in the Vijay Hazare Trophy limited overs tournament. Also Read - IPL 2021 Points Table Latest Update After DC vs MI, Match 13: Delhi Capitals Claim 2nd Spot After Beating Mumbai Indians; Shikhar Dhawan Strengthens Grip on IPL Orange Cap, Avesh Khan Takes 2nd Position in Purple Cap Tally

Mumbai, who are placed in Elite Group A, begin their campaign against Baroda in Alur, near Bengaluru, on September 19 in the 50-over tournament. Also Read - IPL 2021 Today Match Report, DC vs MI Scorecard: Amit Mishra, Shikhar Dhawan Star in Delhi Capitals' Six-Wicket Win Over Mumbai Indians

Attacking batsman Shreyas Iyer, who was ignored by the national selectors for the Asia Cup in the UAE, will be his deputy, said a release from the Mumbai Cricket Association. Also Read - MATCH HIGHLIGHTS IPL 2021 DC vs MI, T20 Cricket Match Updates: Dhawan, Mishra Star as Delhi Beat Mumbai by 6 Wickets

Rahane, too, has not found a berth in the Asia Cup squad to be led by another Mumbai player Rohit Sharma.

Young opener Prithvi Shaw, who was recently picked in the Indian Test squad for the fourth and fifth Tests against England but did not get a game, is also part of the squad.

Mumbai are to be grouped with Baroda, Karnataka, Railways, Vidarbha, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Goa and Maharashtra in the league phase.

Squad: Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), Shreyas Iyer (Vice Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Jay Bista, Surya Kumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Eknath Kerkar, Shivam Dube, Akash Parkar, Dhaval Kulkarni, Shams Mulani, Vijay Gohil, Tushar Deshpande, Royston Dias.