Bengal rode on all-rounder Deepti Sharma’s heroics to edge past Andhra by 10 runs and clinch their maiden Senior Women’s One-Day League in Bengaluru on Monday.Also Read - Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana Remain in Top 10 in ICC Women's ODI Player Rankings; Stafanie Taylor, Hayley Matthews Advance in Batters' Tally

Opening the batting, Deepti scored a fluent 34 to help Bengal post 198/7 in their 50 overs. The off-spinner later picked 3/33 and ran out two Andhra batters to help her side bundle the opposition for 187 in 49.1 overs. Also Read - IND vs AUS Pink-Ball Test: Smriti Mandhana, Bowlers Star as India Dominate Mighty Australia; Rain-Marred Day-Night Match Ends in Draw

Hailing the team’s effort, the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) announced a cash reward of Rs 20 lakh, break up of which includes Rs 1 lakh to each of the players and Rs 50 thousand each to the members of the support staff. Also Read - Richa Ghosh Becomes Seventh Indian to Play in WBBL, Signs For Hobart Hurricanes

“Many congratulations to our women’s cricket team for making history today by winning BCCI Senior Women’s One Day League for the first time,” CAB joint secretary Avishek Dalmiya said.

“Perhaps there couldn’t have been a better New Year Gift to the Association by the eves. The entire women’s cricket team has earned much love and respect with their spectacular performance,” he added.

Brief Scores: Bengal 198/7 in 50 overs (Mandira Mohapatra 39 not out, Deepti Sharma 34, Paramita Roy 32; C.H Jhansi Lakshmi 3/40) beat Andhra 187 in 49.1 overs (N Anusha 61; Sharma 3/33, Shubh Lakshmi 2/29) by 10 runs.