After touring Pakistan for the limited-overs series leg in September-October this year, Sri Lanka cricket named a full-strength 16-member squad for the two-match Test series against Pakistan. For the first time in 10 years, Pakistan will be hosting a Test match on their home soil. In September, Sri Lanka went to Pakistan for a three-match ODI series followed by an equal number of T20Is. However, many regular names were missing from the Lankan squad as ten high-profile players expressed their reservation in travelling to the country. Also Read - Rahul Dravid Picked Cues From Australian Structure And Created Solid Pool For Indian Cricket: Greg Chappell

The series would be a part of the ongoing ICC World Test Championship (WTC), with 120 points up for grabs for both the teams. Opener Dimuth Karunaratne will lead the Sri Lanka side against Pakistan. The team leaves for Pakistan on December 8 ahead of the Test series. Also Read - Arzan Nagwaswalla Names Zaheer Khan As His 'Bowling Idol And Inspiration'; Reveals About His Learnings From Jasprit Bumrah at Mumbai Indians Camp

The highly-anticipated series will also see the return of some big names of Sri Lankan cricket. All-rounder Angelo Mathews and pacer Suranga Lakmal are also included in the full-strength squad. Chandimal, who was a part of SL Test squad during the New Zealand series has been retained. Also Read - Veda Krishnamurthy Pens Emotional Note After Losing Mother, Sister To COVID-19: My World Has Gone Upside Down

In the Sri Lankan squad, there’s only one change compared to the one played the second Test against New Zealand in August. Kasun Rajitha, the right-arm fast bowler, replaced leg-spinner Akila Dananjaya who is currently serving a one-year suspension for an illegal action.

The first Test of the two-match series between Pakistan and Sri Lanka will begin on December 11 in Rawalpindi. It will be followed by the second match in Karachi from December 19. Pakistan have not hosted a Test match since the 2009 Lahore terror attack that saw several Sri Lankan cricketers and support staff sustaining injuries.

Sri Lanka Test Squad vs Pakistan: Dimuth Karunaratne (C), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Janith Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dhananjaya De Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilruwan Perera, Lasith Embuldeniya, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lakshan Sandakan