Asia Cup 2018, Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka 1st ODI Preview: In under 30 hours from now Bangladesh will lock horns with Sri Lanka in the opening match of the Asia Cup. Both the teams look well balanced and it could be touted as the battle of equals as there is not much to choose between the two sides. India and Pakistan would be frontrunners for the title, but these two teams could be their only challengers. Bangladesh has the players but have not been consistent of late and would look for consistency and solidarity. The Islanders, on the other hand, have already lost Danushka Gunathilaka, due to an injury and he had to head back home.

Bangladesh is a side that has a good mix of experience and raw talent, which could prove lethal if they fire together. In the Nidahas Trophy played earlier this year, Bangladesh pipped Sri Lanka to set up a summit clash with India, hence they cannot be taken lightly. Also, with quality spinners in the Bangladesh lineup like Shakib-al-Hasan and Mehidy Hasan, they hold the advantage in that department.

For Sri Lanka, they would rely heavily on their captain Angelo Matthews to come good. Kusal Perera, Upul Tharanga, and Niroshan Dickwella are the other frontline batsmen for the Lankans.

In the batting department, Bangladesh has experience in Tamim Iqbal and Mushfiqur Rahim. They also have young guns like Mahmudullah and Mosaddek Hossain, who can take the match away on their day.

Predictions: It is really hard to make a prediction, but looking at both the sides it looks given the conditions they would encounter in Dubai, Bangladesh has the edge, but just slightly. One thing for certain, it is a mouthwatering encounter to get the tournament underway.

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Ariful Haque, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider Rony, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews(c), Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Upul Tharanga, Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Akila Dananjaya, Dilruwan Perera, Amila Aponso, Kasun Rajitha, Suranga Lakmal, Dushmantha Chameera, Lasith Malinga