Asia Cup 2018 India vs Bangladesh: India locks horns with Bangladesh for the second time in a final in the same year. Earlier in the year, the two teams met in the Nidahas Trophy final, where Bangladesh gave India a run for their money. Had Dinesh Karthik not hit a six of the last ball, India would have lost it. Now, the two teams are ready to go at loggerheads again in the Asia Cup 2018 Finals.

Bangladesh defeated Pakistan by 36 runs to set up a finals date with the Men in Blue, which was not what was expected considering Pakistan is the more established side. India have been the only unbeaten side in the tournament and hence it will take a huge effort from Bangladesh to beat a formidable India.

For Bangladesh, they will not have the services of Shakib Al Hasan in the summit clash as he picked up an injury in the match against Pakistan and has been forced to return home. But Mashrafe Mortaza’s men have shown they can perform even without their best batsman, Tamim Iqbal, so while Shakib will be missed, they will look to focus on how they can make up for it. The best part about Bangladesh is Mushfiqur Rahim is in good form and they would dearly hope to see him among the runs in the finals.

For India, Shikhar Dhawan, and Rohit Sharma have tons under their belt in the tournament and would return to the team for the finals. They will hold the key apart from the two spinners who have picked up wickets when India needed them. Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar will also feature in the finals which would boost India’s pace battery.

Head-to-Head Record:

India and Bangladesh have been involved in 34 ODI encounters so far, with 28 ending in India’s favour and 5 in Bangladesh’s.

Betting Odds:

India 4.0

Bangladesh 1.22


Going by the head to head, one can easily strike off Bangladesh’s chances of even competing. Rohit Sharma’s men will walk out for the finals as favourites. But, one can never write-off the Men in Green as they are highly capable of springing a surprise like they nearly beat India to clinch the Nidahas Trophy.


India (From): Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Chahar, Siddarth Kaul, K Khaleel Ahmed

Bangladesh (From): Shakib Al Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Ariful Haque, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider Rony, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes