Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Tuesday announced the 16-member squad led by Sarfraz Ahmed for the upcoming Asia Cup 2018. The six-nations Asia Cup will be held in the 50-over format in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) from September 15-28, 2018. Also Read - PCB Announces 20-Member Squad for South Africa Tests; Shan Masood, Haris Sohail Among Six Players Dropped

The controversial cricket board had left all-rounders Mohammad Hafeez and Imad Wasim out of the squad for the six-nation Asia Cup, to be played in Dubai and Abu Dhabi from next week. Also Read - Pakistan Cricket Board Announces PSL 2021 Schedule; Opener Slated For February 20

However, the green shirts have picked left-handed opener, Shan Masood who gets his first chance in Pakistan’s one-day squad after scoring 1,200-plus runs in the two domestic one-day tournaments, chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq said. Also Read - PCB Awards: Babar Azam Named ‘Most Valuable Cricketer’ at Annual Cricket Awards, Full List of Winners

The 28-year-old has so far played 12 Tests for Pakistan.

Sarfraz Ahmed will lead the side, which opens their Cup campaign against the wildcard entrant on September 16. They will take on arch-rivals India in a much-awaited clash on September 19, three days later.

Besides Sarfraz Ahmed, Pakistan squad includes the like of Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Shan Masood, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Haris Sohail, Shadab Khan, Muhammad Nawaz, Fahim Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Muhammad Amir, Junaid Khan, Usman Khan Shinwari and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Apart from Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and one qualifying team will participate in the six-nation Asia Cup 2018.

Meanwhile, a training camp of Pakistan cricket team is underway at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore for Asia Cup 2018, in which 18 players are participating. The camp will continue till September 10.

Pakistan Squad: 

Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Shan Masood, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (C), Asif Ali, Haris Sohail, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Junaid Khan, Usman Shinwari and Shaheen Shah Afridi.