Asian Games 2018 at Jakarta And Palembang, Day 11 Medal Tally: China continues to top the points standings in the ongoing Asian Games 2018 as they once again top the medals tally after a stellar show at the end of day eleven with 102 Gold, 67 Silver and 50 Bronze. They are followed by Japan with 52 Gold, 47 Silver and 63 Bronze, on the third position are the Republic of Korea with 37 Gold, 42 Silver and 50 Bronze.Also Read - Jinson Johnson Betters Own 1500m National Record by Winning Silver in Berlin, Qualifies for World Championships

After two golds on day 11, India currently stands at the ninth spot in Asian Games medals tally with –  11 Gold, 20 Silver and 23 Bronze taking their total tally to 54. Also Read - Indian Mixed Relay Team of Hima Das, Mohammad Anas, Arokia Rajiv, MR Poovamma in Line to Win Asian Games Gold Medal After One Year

On day 11, India’s Swapna Barman won gold in women’s heptathlon. While her compatriot, Purnima Hembram finished in fourth place in the same event. Swapna’s triumph in the women’s heptathlon is the first-ever gold for India in the event at the Asiad. She posted a score of 6026 points. Wang Qingling of China scored 5954 to take silver while Japan’s Yuki Yamasaki produced her personal best of 5873 to bag the bronze medal. Also Read - Six-Toed Heptathlete And Asian Games Gold Medallist Swapna Burman Receives Customised Footwear From Adidas

In men’s triple jump, Arpinder won gold with an effort of 16.77 metres. He pipped Uzbekistan’s Ruslan Kurbanov, who took the silver medal with a personal best jump of 16.62 metres. The bronze medal went to China’s Cao Shuo, who jumped 16.56 metres.  After the invalid jump, Arpinder Singh came back strong with a jump of 16.58 metres in the second attempt which made him the leader after the first two attempts.

Arpinder gained further ascendancy when he came out with a jump of 16.77m. Ruslan too made his best attempt of 16.62 metres. The Uzbek athlete, however, could not topple Arpinder as the former having made attempts of 15.99, 16.43, 16.41 in his final three chances respectively. He jumped 16.08 in his fourth attempt before fouling the last two attempts.

Before the 25-year-old Arpinder, the previous Indian champion at the Asiad was Mohinder Singh Gill in 1970 with an effort of 16.11m.

3Republic of Korea374250129
5IR Iran19161752
6Chinese Taipei13172151
8DPR Korea1281131
14Hong Kong, China4121733
18United Arab Emirates36312
25Kingdom of Saudi Arabia1214
25Macau, China1214
30Lao PDR0224

The Indian women’s hockey team have assured at least a silver medal after reaching the finals of the event in Asian Games for the first time since 1998. The girls will take on Japan in Final on 31st Aug (Friday)

In the women’s 200m, Dutee clocked 23.20 seconds to finish behind Bahrain’s Edidiong Odiong, who claimed the gold medal with 22.96 seconds. Wei Yongli of China got the bronze medal with a time of 23.27 seconds at the Gelora Bung Karno Sports Stadium.

Dutee, who also took silver in the 100m, grabbed her second silver of the Games.

The Odisha athlete had topped the standings in the semi-finals on Tuesday with a time of 23.00 seconds — her personal best — while Odiong was second in 23.01 seconds.

In the final, the 22-year-old Dutee was 0.20 seconds slower than her Tuesday’s performance. Running in the third lane, Dutee started strong and in the first 3040 metres she was in the third position.

But she peaked and gave a tough fight to 21-year-old Odiong, who seemed the favourite from the start. After the 7-metre mark, it was nearly obvious that the top two positions would be taken by Odiong and Dutee respectively.

Odiong, with a long stride, never looked beatable by Dutee. The latter then just had to hold off Yongli, who was pushing to the limit.

Asian Championships bronze medallist Olga Safronova, who had finished a spot ahead of Dutee in the Bhubaneswar meet in 2017, claimed the fourth spot. The Kazakh sprinter finished with a timing of 23.32.

The two medals for Dutee at this Games meant that her career had taken a completely different turn after she was barred in 2014 for high androgen levels.

Earlier in the morning session, Khushbir Kaur finished fourth in the women’s 20km race walk.

Khushbhir, who had bagged a silver medal at the 2014 edition, clocked one hour, 35 minutes and 24 seconds to finish one minute and 22 seconds behind bronze medallist Kumiko Okada of Japan.

China’s Jiayu Yang and Shijie Qieyang claimed the top two positions respectively. Both clocked a Games record timing of one hour, 29 minutes and 15 seconds but Jiayu was declared the winner in a photo finish.

Another Indian in the women’s category, Soumya Baby and men’s 20km race walkers K.T. Irfan and Manish Singh Rawat were disqualified.

In the men’s race, China’s Wang Kaihua won the gold medal with a timing of one hour, 22 minutes and 04 seconds. He was 0.06 seconds faster than Japan’s Toshikazu Yamanishi.

The bronze medal went to Jin Xiangqian, who posted a time of one hour, 27 minutes and 58 seconds.