Indian racer Jinson Johnson on Thursday came out with yet another extraordinary performance as he clinched the gold medal in Men’s 1500m race at the ongoing Asian Games 2018 being held in the twin Indonesian cities of Jakarta and Palembang. Also Read - Athletes Need Good Support To Perform Well In World Events: Jinson Johnson

The 27-year-old ran a very tactical race, sticking to the coat-tails of the early pace-setters Adnan Taes Agar of Iraq. The sprinter from Kerala ran in the third position till most of the race, choosing to make his move in the final 300 metres stretch, clocking a winning time of 3 minutes and 44.72 seconds. 0.10 second ahead of Amir Moradi of Iran. Ending with a bronze was Bahrain’s Mohammed Tiouali (3:45.88sec). Also Read - Jinson Johnson Fails to Qualify For 1500m final; Shot-putter Tejinder Pal Singh Toor Finishes 18th

Meanwhile, Johnson’s compatriot Manjit Singh, who had clinched the gold medal in 800m race, failed to have a podium finish and completed the race in 3 minutes 46.57 seconds and finished at the fourth spot. Singh hung back for most of the race and started sprinting towards the finish line with 300 metres to go but Jinson’s final burst proved too much for him. Jinson won India’s first gold medal in the event since Sunita Rani at Busan in 2002.

This was the sixth gold for India in athletics in the ongoing edition of the Asian Games.

India’s last gold medal in men’s 800m was won by Charles Borromeo in the 1982 Asian Games. It was India’s only second one-two finish in 800m at the Games since Ranjit Singh and Kulwant Singh achieved the feat at the inaugural edition held in New Delhi in 1951.

Earlier, PU Chitra and Seema Punia had also added to India’s tally, winning bronze in the women’s 1500m and discus throw events respectively. Chitra finished third in the 1500m event with a timing of 4:12.56 seconds, behind Bahrain’s Kalkidan Befkadu and Tigist Belay. Seema’s bronze in the discus throw was won with an attempt of 62.26m.

India are currently at the eighth spot in the medals tally which includes 13 gold, 21 silver and 25 bronze medals.