Australia A is set to take on India A on its tour to India in the month of August-September by announcing a squad of  14 players for ODIs and four-Day matches. Each squad consists of international experience. Including the players like Ashton Agar, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head,  Usman Khawaja, Matthew Renshaw and Chris Tremain.

The tour seems as the pivotal preparation for Australia’s two-Test tour against Pakistan in the UAE. Spin is a concerning factor for the Aussies as back home they do not get to play a lot on low-spinning friendly tracks.

“We’re looking for leaders for future Australian teams, and Travis, Mitch and Alex are all very impressive young men. Travis and Mitch both have captaincy experience at state level, and this is an exciting opportunity for them to lead a new group of players in different conditions. Alex, as our Twenty20 vice-captain in the UK and Zimbabwe, is also someone we rate very highly as a leader, and this is another opportunity for him to develop those skills,” national selector Trevor Hohns said.

The Schedule:

One-Day fixtures – Vijayawada

17 August v India A

19 August v South Africa A

23 August v India A

25 August v South Africa A

29 August – Tri-Series Final

Four-Day fixtures – Vizag

2 – 5 September v India A

8 – 11 September v India A


Australia A four-day squad: Mitchell Marsh (c), Alex Carey (vc), Ashton Agar, Brendan Doggett, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Jon Holland, Usman Khawaja, Michael Neser, Joel Paris, Kurtis Patterson, Matthew Renshaw, Mitch Swepson, Chris Tremain

Australia A one-day squad: Travis Head (c), Alex Carey (vc), Ashton Agar, Peter Handscomb, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Michael Neser, Matthew Renshaw, Jhye Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Mitch Swepson, Chris Tremain, Jack Wildermuth